Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Name 
Title Phone Email
Dr. Francesco Berna Associate Professor 778.782.9674 francesco_berna@sfu.ca
Dr. David Burley Professor 778.782.4196 burley@sfu.ca
Dr. Hugo Cardoso Associate Professor 778.782.4171 hcardoso@sfu.ca
Dr. Mark Collard Professor 778.782.8166 mcollard@sfu.ca
Dr. Catherine D'Andrea Professor 778.782.5790 adandrea@sfu.ca
Dr. Jon Driver Professor   driver@sfu.ca
Dr. Birute Galdikas Professor 778.782.3225 drbirute@gmail.com
Dr. Christina Giovas Assistant Professor 778.782.5828 christina_giovas@sfu.ca
Dr. Sabrina Higgins Assistant Professor 778.782.4593 shiggins@sfu.ca
Dr. Ross Jamieson Associate Professor 778.782.3087 ross_jamieson@sfu.ca
Dr. Dana Lepofsky Professor 778.782.5403 dlepofsk@sfu.ca
Dr. David Maxwell Lecturer 778.782.9783 dma50@sfu.ca
Dr. Robert J. Muir Senior Lecturer 778.782.6773 bmuir@sfu.ca
Dr. George Nicholas Department Chair, Professor 778.782.5709 nicholas@sfu.ca
Dr. Rudy Reimer Associate Professor 778.782.3594 rudyr@sfu.ca
Dr. Michael Richards Professor 778.782.8596 michael_richards@sfu.ca
Dr. Dennis Sandgathe Lecturer 778.782.4817 dms@sfu.ca
Dr. John Welch Professor 778.782.6726 welch@sfu.ca
Dr. Dongya Yang Professor 778.782.4651 donyang@sfu.ca
Associate Professor
Associate Professor
Associate Professor
Associate Professor
Associate Professor

Limited Term Lecturer

Name Email
   

Emeritus Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Roy Carlson Emeritus                                778.782.4859 royc@sfu.ca
Dr. Knut Fladmark Emeritus 778.782.3135 fladmark@sfu.ca
Dr. Brian Hayden Emeritus                                                        778.782.4781 bhayden@sfu.ca
Dr. Erle Nelson Emeritus 778.782.3135 dewart@sfu.ca
Dr. Mark Skinner Emeritus 778.782.3135 mskinner@sfu.ca

Adjunct Faculty

Name Contact Appointment
Dr. Alemseged Beldados alemseged.beldados@aau.edu.et
 
Dr. Sarah Carr-Locke Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, sarah_carr-locke@gov.nt.ca   April 20, 2019
Dr. Diane Cockle
diane.cockle@rcmp-grc.gc.ca December 31, 2023
Dr. Jerome Cybulski
jerome.cybulski@museedelhistoire.ca, jcybulsk@rogers.com December 31, 2023
Dr. James Delgado
james.delgado@searchinc.com  
Dr. Keith Dobney
Keith.Dobney@liverpool.ac.uk December 31, 2021
Dr. Christopher Dore
c_dore@sfu.ca December 31, 2021
Dr. Paul Goldberg
paulberg@bu.edu December 31, 2023
Dr. Natasha Lyons
natasha@ursus-heritage.ca December 31, 2021
Dr. Alan McMillan
mcmillan@sfu.ca December 31, 2021
Dr. Deborah C. Merrett
d_c_merrett@sfu.ca April 30, 2019
Dr. Neil Price
neil.price@arkeologi.uu.se December 31, 2019
Dr. Joost Schokkenbroek
director@vanmaritime.com August 31, 2023
Dr. Camilla Speller
camilla.speller@york.ac.uk August 31, 2023
Dr. Sarah Walshaw
swalshaw@sfu.ca December 31, 2023
Dr. Michael Wilson
wilsonmi@douglascollege.ca  
Dr. Robyn Woodward
rwoodward@shaw.ca December 31, 2023

Associate Faculty

Name Phone Email  
Dr. John Clague (Earth Sciences) 778.782.4924 john_clague@sfu.ca  
Dr. Rolf Mathewes (Biology) 778.782.4472 mathewes@sfu.ca  
Dr. Pablo Nepomnaschy (Health Sciences) 778.782.8493 pan2@sfu.ca  
Dr. John Pierce (Geography) 778.782.4577 jpierce@sfu.ca  

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Name Email Supervisor
Chris Carleton w.ccarleton@gmail.com Mark Collard
Christina Cheung christina_cheung_3@sfu.ca Mike Richards
Mana Dembo mana.dembo@sfu.ca Mark Collard
Hua Grace Zhang zhangh@sfu.ca Dongya Yang
Bryn Letham bryn.letham@gmail.com Dana Lepofsky

Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Merrill Farmer Manager, Academic & Administrative Services
778.782.4687 mfarmer@sfu.ca
Angela Tai
Undergraduate Program Assistant & Budget Clerk 778.782.3135 goarch@sfu.ca
Kristina Pohl
Chair's Assistant & Graduate Program Assistant 778.782.4727 gpcarch@sfu.ca
Vlad Vintila Undergraduate Advisor
778.782.3519 archadv@sfu.ca
Shannon Wood Laboratory Manager & Collections Curator
778.782.5333 archlm@sfu.ca
Peter Locher Laboratory Technician 778.782.6928 plocher@sfu.ca
Megan Wong Laboratory Technician 778.782.5045 archiso@sfu.ca
Dr. Barbara Winter Museum Curator 778.782.3325 bwinter@sfu.ca