Issues & Experts >  Issues & Experts Archive > Back-to-school experts

Back-to-school experts

Document Tools

Print This Page

Email This Page

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

August 5, 2010

School beckons and SFU faculty and staff are standing by to offer expert commentary of a range of educational themes:

Post-secondary transitions:

  • Tara Black, director, Student Development, 778.782.6754, tblack@sfu.ca
    Transition to university

  • Lisa Ogilvie, manager, Student Life, 778.782.3728, lisa_ogilvie@sfu.ca
    University orientation programs and academic success

  • Chris Rogerson, Residence Life, 778.782.5803, rogerson@sfu.ca
    Moving out, living away, coping skills, helicopter parents

  • Lindsay Neilson, SFU International, 778.782.5887, lindsay_neilson@sfu.ca
    Studying abroad through international exchange programs

  • Kate Ross, Registrar, 778.7882.4176, kuross@sfu.ca

  • Tim Rahilly, Associate VP, Students and International, 778.782.4004, tim_rahilly@sfu.ca

  • Nancy Johnston, Executive director, Student Affairs, 778.782.6572, nancy_johnston@sfu.ca
    Enrolment targets, entrance averages, competition among post-secondary institutions

Educational policy, testing and learning:

  • John Nesbit, education, 778.782.7123; (cel) 778.230.1495, nesbit@sfu.ca
    Homework; learning styles

  • Maureen Hoskyn, education, 778.782.5808, mhoskyn@sfu.ca
    Learning difficulties

  • Kieran Egan, education, 778.782.4671; 604.261.1533, egan@sfu.ca
    Imagination and learning

  • Dan Laitsch, education, 778.782.7589, dlaitsch@sfu.ca
    Educational policy and practice

  • Alyssa Wise, education, 778.782.8046, alyssa_wise@sfu.ca
    Cyber-learning

  • Phil Winne, education (after Aug. 30), 778.782.4858, winne@sfu.ca
    Learning strategies, learning software, learning styles, assessment issues

  • Milt McClaren, education, 250.764.8781, milt_mcclaren@sfu.ca
    Curriculum, testing, parent involvement in schools

  • Paul Shaker, education, 778.782.3148, pshaker@sfu.ca
    Educational policy

  • Peter Liljedahl, education, 778.782.5643, liljedahl@sfu.ca
    Math education; increased demand for secondary school math instructors

Nutrition:

  • Diane Finegood, kinesiology, via Doreen Chiang: 778.782.6707, doreen_chiang@sfu.ca
    Childhood obesity, nutritional issues, school lunches

Bullying:

  • Brenda Morrison, criminology, 778.782.7627, brendam@sfu.ca
    Bullying issues

  • Wanda Cassidy, education, 778.782.4484, cassidy@sfu.ca
    Cyber-bullying

Careers:

  • Claire Trepanier, Office of Francophone and Francophile Affairs (OFFA), 778.782.6981, trepanie@sfu.ca

  • Danielle Arcand, OFFA, 778.782.6866, darcand@sfu.ca
    French immersion; increased demand for post-secondary French-language programs
  • Gail Anderson, criminology, 778.782.3589, ganderso@sfu.ca
    Author of an on-line book about choosing a ‘CSI’ career

Comments

Comment Guidelines