Issues & Experts >  Issues & Experts Archive > Leadership, avalanches, Aboriginal studies

Leadership, avalanches, Aboriginal studies

Document Tools

Print This Page

Email This Page

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

January 17, 2011

Leadership race watch

SFU political scientist John Calvert has added his name to the list of SFU experts available to comment on the expanding B.C. NDP and Liberal leadership races. The experts are making themselves available on Fridays for a round-up analysis of the week’s developments.

John Calvert, 778.782.8163, 604.812.4703 (cell), john_calvert@sfu.ca
Marjorie Griffin Cohen, 778.782.5838, 778.772.2339 (cell), mcohen@sfu.ca (limited availability Fridays, other days good)
Gary Mauser, 604.937.5292, mauser@sfu.ca
Lindsay Meredith, 778.782.5554, 604.939.0460 (h), 604.932.6934 (Whistler), 604.842.6007 (cell), lindsay_meredith@sfu.ca

 Avalanche watch

SFU avalanche safety expert Pascal Haegeli is watching the danger signs as avalanche warnings and related deaths in parts of B.C. are keeping safety officials on the trail of weather and snow packs. He can talk about warnings, risks and safety measures. 

Pascal Haegeli, 604.773.0854, pascal@avisualanche.ca, Twitter: @pascalhaegeli 

SFU and Aboriginal college sign MOU

SFU VP-Academic Jon Driver and Native Education College (NEC) President Dan Guinan will sign a milestone Memorandum of Understanding on Wed., Jan. 19 at NEC in east Vancouver. It will significantly expand joint program offerings and more than a decade long academic collaboration between SFU and B.C.’s largest private Aboriginal college. “One of our goals is to recruit more Aboriginal students, and to expand our offering of support they need to complete their degrees,” explains Driver. “By deepening our partnership with NEC we hope to create new opportunities for students to transition to university, either directly or via a community college."

Press release: http://i.sfu.ca/bKSjJQ 

Jon Driver, 778.782.3925, driver@sfu.ca
Sharon Eng (to reach Driver), 778.782.3925, vpacad@sfu.ca

Put your money on Liberal Studies

SFU sociology and anthropology professor Michael Kenny could write an extended essay on why you should put your money into getting a Graduate Liberal Studies (GLS) degree from SFU. But, better yet, he says you should come to the GLS open house information sessions on either Jan. 20 or March 3, 7-9 p.m., at the SFU Vancouver campus in Harbour Centre. Kenny, GLS interim director, can explain why mid-career adults who’ve already made their marks on the world stand to benefit the most from returning to the classroom for this program.

Press release: http://i.sfu.ca/udUecY

Michael Kenny, 778.782.5196, kenny@sfu.ca

Comments

Comment Guidelines