Welcome to SFU.ca.
You have reached this page because we have detected you have a browser that is not supported by our web site and its stylesheets. We are happy to bring you here a text version of the SFU site. It offers you all the site's links and info, but without the graphics.
You may be able to update your browser and take advantage of the full graphical website. This could be done FREE at one of the following links, depending on your computer and operating system.
Or you may simply continue with the text version.

*Windows:*
FireFox (Recommended) http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
Netscape http://browser.netscape.com
Opera http://www.opera.com/

*Macintosh OSX:*
FireFox (Recommended) http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
Netscape http://browser.netscape.com
Opera http://www.opera.com/

*Macintosh OS 8.5-9.22:*
The only currently supported browser that we know of is iCAB. This is a free browser to download and try, but there is a cost to purchase it.
http://www.icab.de/index.html
Issues & Experts >  Issues & Experts Archive > Budget, terrorism, AIDS, global warming - Issues and Experts

Budget, terrorism, AIDS, global warming - Issues and Experts

Document Tools

Print This Page

Email This Page

Add to del.icio.us

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

February 21, 2005
Liberals lay out Canada's financial roadmap…The Liberals will unveil their spending plans for the country when the 2005 budget is brought down Wednesday, Feb. 23. SFU experts can comment on a range of issues, from health to security. They include:

David Andolfatto, economics, 604.291.5825, david_andolfatto@sfu.ca
Economic development, business cycles, labour market

Neil Boyd, criminology, 604.291.3324; neil_boyd@sfu.ca
Crime issues

Daniel Cohn, political science, 604.291.5567; dcohn@sfu.ca
Health care policy, budget impact on health programs

Diane Finegood, kinesiology, 604.268.6598, diane_finegood@sfu.ca
Budget issues related to fitness/health

Warren Gill geography, 604.291.5005; warren_gill@sfu.ca
Transportation issues

Marjorie Griffin-Cohen, political science, 604.291.5838, mcohen@sfu.ca
Political economy, economic gender equality

Gloria Gutman, gerontology, 604.291.5063; gutman@sfu.ca
Budget issues affecting seniors

Richard Harris, economics, 604.291.3795; rharris@sfu.ca
Budget impact on economic growth, employment and inflation

Mark Jaccard, resource/environ. management, 604.291.4219; mark_jaccard@sfu.ca
Budget issues related to energy, meeting the Kyoto Protocol

David Laycock, political science, 604.291.3089; laycock@sfu.ca
Budget's political implications

Geoff Madoc-Jones, education, 604.291.5969; geoff_madoc-jones@sfu.ca
Budget issues affecting education

Lindsay Meredith business, 604.291.5554; lindsay_meredith@sfu.ca
Budget, political analyses

Barbara Mitchell, sociology/gerontology, 604.291.6628/5234; barbara_a_mitchell@sfu.ca
Budget issues affecting families/seniors

Alexander Moens, political science, 604.291.4361; alexander_moens@sfu.ca
Budget impact on security, military issues, U.S. relations

John Richards, business, 604.291.4568/5250, john_richards@sfu.ca
Budget impact on social programs

Douglas Ross, political science, 604.291.4872; douglasr@sfu.ca
Budget impact on security, military issues

Andrew Wister, gerontology, 604.291.5044; wister@sfu.ca
Budget issues affecting seniors, particularly housing and health


Islamic Empire, Pax Americana, or a World of Law - a lecture by journalist Gwynne Dyer…What has blown us so far off course, and where do we go from here? American soldiers are mired in the Middle East, there is a permanent panic about terrorism, and all the rules and organizations we have been building since 1945 to make the world a safer place are eroding fast. The world seems to be sliding back towards the old international anarchy. But a decline into chaos is not inevitable, according to Gwynne Dyer, internationally known journalist and broadcaster on international affairs, who will give a lecture on Monday, Feb. 28 at 7:30 p.m. in the Segal Centre at SFU at Harbour Centre. His next book, from McClelland & Stewart, is called Future: Tense. Seating is limited. For reservations call 604.291.5100; or email cs_hc@sfu.ca/
    Bob Russell, 604.291.4819; rdr@sfu.ca (Russell is in contact with Dyer and can help to arrange interviews)


The prevention of AIDS…The AIDS pandemic continues to grow, with incidence increasing in many parts of the world. Jamie Scott, a professor in SFU's department of molecular biology and biochemistry, will focus on AIDS as a public health issue and approaches to its prevention when she gives the president's faculty lecture on Tuesday, Feb. 22 at 4:30 p.m. in the Halpern Centre, on the Burnaby campus. She will examine in particular the potential role of vaccination in preventing HIV-1 infection. Scott holds a Tier-1 Canada Research Chair in molecular immunity through SFU's new faculty of health sciences.
    Marianne Meadahl, Media & PR, 604.291.3210



Global warming - what glaciers are telling us…Are BC's glaciers the equivalent of a canary in a coal mine when it comes to warning of climate change? John Clague, an SFU professor of natural hazard research in the department of earth sciences, says most glaciers around the world have thinned and retreated due to global warming. He'll look at how glaciers in Garibaldi Park have responded to recent climate changes when he gives a talk at the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre on Thursday, Feb. 24 at 7:30 p.m