Issues & Experts >  Issues & Experts Archive > Federal budget comes down Monday

Federal budget comes down Monday

Document Tools

Print This Page

Email This Page

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

March 16, 2007
Federal budget comes down Monday
Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s minority Conservative government will deliver its second federal budget on Monday, March 19 at about 4 pm (EST). SFU faculty members who can speak about what it will mean for taxpayers include:

David MacLean, health sciences, 604.291.5361; dmaclean@sfu.ca; public health issues
Jonathan Kesselman, public policy program (Canada Research Chair in public finance), jon_kesselman@sfu.ca; 604. 264.9812; GST, tax cuts
Wilf Hurd, director, government relations, 604.291.5672; post-secondary education issues
Mark Leier, history, 604.291.5827; leier@sfu.ca; labour issues
Warren Gill, geography, 604.291.5005; gill@sfu.ca; transportation issues
Mario Pinto, chemistry, 604.291.4152; bpinto@sfu.ca
Richard Harris, economics, 604.291.3795; rharris@sfu.ca; overall significance for growth, employment and inflation
Patrick Smith, political science, 605.291.1544 (h); psmith@sfu.ca; federal politics/parties/elections
Neil Boyd, criminology, 604.291.3324; neil_boyd@sfu.ca; crime issues
Mark Wexler, business, 604.268.7846; wexler@sfu.ca;
 government and ethics
Lindsay Meredith, business, 604.291.5554; 1-604.932.6934 (in Whistler, with freelance cameramen available); lindsay_meredith@sfu.ca; budgetary and political implications.
John Richards, business, 604.291. 5250; john_richards@sfu.ca; impact on social programs
Diane Finegood, kinesiology, 604.291.6598; diane_finegood@sfu.ca; fitness/health issues
David Laycock, political science, 604.291.3089; laycock@sfu.ca; political implications
David Andolfatto, economics, 604.291.5825, david_andolfatto@sfu.ca; economic development, business, labour market issues
Barbara Mitchell, sociology/gerontology, 604.291.6628/5234; barbara_a_mitchell@sfu.ca; family/seniors issues
Andrew Wister, gerontology, 604.291.5044; wister@sfu.ca; seniors issues, particularly housing and health

And for environmental issues:

Ryan Allen, health sciences, 604.268.7631; ryan_allen@sfu.ca; air pollution health effects
Diana Allen, earth sciences, 604.291.3967; diana_allen@sfu.ca; climate change impacts on water
John Clague, earth sciences, 604.291.4924; john_clague@sfu.ca; environmental and climate change; earthquakes and tsunamis
Alex Clapp, geography, 604.291.3635; aclapp@sfu.ca; forestry, resources; role of carbon taxes in climate change policy
Gwen Flowers, earth sciences, Canadian Research Chair in glaciology; 604.268.6638; gwen_flowers@sfu.ca; glaciology/climate
Ken Lertzman, resource/environmental management, 604.291.3067;
kenneth_lertzman@sfu.ca; http://www.rem.sfu.ca/forestry; forests, fires and climate
Nancy Olewiler, economics, 604.291.3442; olewiler@sfu.ca;
environmental economics/policy
Patrick Smith, political science, 604.291.1544 (h), psmith@sfu.ca;
politics and the environment
Tim Takaro, health sciences, 604.268.7186;
timothy_takaro@sfu.ca; health-related impacts of climate change
Peter Williams, director, centre for tourism policy research,
604.291.3103; peter_williams@sfu.ca; http://www.rem.sfu.ca/tourism;
environmental issues, tourism
Mark Winston, biology/dialogue program, 604.268.7894; mark_winston@sfu.ca; teaching/research programs to develop policies to adapt to climate change