SFU announces 2008 honorary degree recipients

March 20, 2008

Document Tools

Print This Article

E-mail This Page

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

Related Links

B.C.’s Man in Motion, a former UBC president and a prominent First Nations artist are among 10 individuals to be recognized with honorary degrees during this year’s spring and fall convocation ceremonies:

  • Nelly Auersperg, UBC professor and Terry Fox research scientist with the National Cancer Institute of Canada, who has made major contributions to women’s health research.

  • Iain Baxter, professor emeritus in the School of Visual Arts at the University of Windsor and an internationally known contemporary artist whose work has helped reshape and redefine the Canadian modern art scene.

  • Cary Fowler, executive director of the Global Crop Diversity Trust, creator of the first global seed bank. An SFU alumnus (’71), his career in the conservation and use of crop diversity spans 30 years.

  • William Gibson, noted science-fiction writer whose 1984 award-winning novel Neuromancer helped introduce the concept of cyberspace.

  • Rick Hansen, president and CEO of the Rick Hansen Foundation, who has spent the two decades since his Man in Motion World Tour raising awareness and funds for spinal-cord research.

  • Michael Kirby, chair of the Mental Health Commission of Canada and a former Canadian senator.

  • Deepa Mehta, an internationally acclaimed and award-winning Indian-Canadian film director. Self-taught in film production, she formed a successful documentary production company.

  • Martha Piper, UBC’s first female president and an advocate for the importance of universities’ research contributions to economic and social development.

  • Susan Point, internationally renowned artist whose work has played a prominent role in renewing of the Coast Salish First Nation’s cultural heritage.

  • Mossadiq Umedaly, chairman, and CEO of Xantrex Technology, a world leader in advanced power electronics, and former chief financial officer and vice president of Ballard Power Systems.
Search SFU News Online