Feds renew six SFU Canada Research Chairs

November 27, 2008

Document Tools

Print This Article

E-mail This Page

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

Related Links

The Canadian government has announced $5.7 million in renewed funding for six of the 38 SFU researchers who hold Tier 1 or Tier 2 positions through the Canada Research Chairs program.

Seven-year renewable Tier 1 chairs, worth $1.4 million, are awarded to experienced researchers who are acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their field. One-time renewable five-year Tier 2 chairs, worth $500,000, are given to scholars acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their fields.

The chairholders receive funding from one of three granting agencies: the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

The six renewed SFU chair-holders and their granting agencies are:
  • David Baillie, a Tier 1 chair in genomics/bioinformatics, from NSERC.
  • Derek Bingham, a Tier 2 chair in industrial statistics, from NSERC.
  • Kieran Egan, a Tier 1 chair in cognitive development and the curriculum, from SSHRC.
  • Randall Peterman, a Tier 1 chair in fisheries risk assessment and management, from NSERC.
  • Cenk Sahinalp, a Tier 2 chair in computational genomics, from NSERC.
  • Stephen Wright, a Tier 2 chair in social psychology, from SSHRC.

Ottawa invests $300 million a year in the CRC program, which was created in 2000 to attract and retain some of the most accomplished and promising minds.


Commenting is closed
Comment Guidelines
Search SFU News Online