Welcome to SFU.ca.
You have reached this page because we have detected you have a browser that is not supported by our web site and its stylesheets. We are happy to bring you here a text version of the SFU site. It offers you all the site's links and info, but without the graphics.
You may be able to update your browser and take advantage of the full graphical website. This could be done FREE at one of the following links, depending on your computer and operating system.
Or you may simply continue with the text version.

FireFox (Recommended) http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
Netscape http://browser.netscape.com
Opera http://www.opera.com/

*Macintosh OSX:*
FireFox (Recommended) http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
Netscape http://browser.netscape.com
Opera http://www.opera.com/

*Macintosh OS 8.5-9.22:*
The only currently supported browser that we know of is iCAB. This is a free browser to download and try, but there is a cost to purchase it.
Issues & Experts >  Issues & Experts Archive > The provincial election - a week to go. Update #3

The provincial election - a week to go. Update #3

Document Tools

Print This Page

Email This Page

Add to del.icio.us

Font Size
S      M      L      XL

May 10, 2005
The provincial election - a week to go. Update #3….The countdown is on as voters prepare to elect their MLAs and vote on a new election system. SFU faculty listed below continue to follow the issues and can provide comment during the campaign's final stage. Please call the media/pr office at 604.291.3210 if we can be of further help.


Catherine Murray, communication, 604.291.5322; murraye@sfu.ca
Polling and public opinion trends; her fourth-year seminar class in political communication will be studying the election.


Neil Boyd, criminology, 604.291.3324; 604.947.9569; neil_boyd@sfu.ca
Crime and justice issues


David Andolfatto, economics, 604.291.5825, david_andolfatto@sfu.ca
Economic development, business cycles, labour market

John Richards, business, 604.291. 4568/5250; john_richards@sfu.ca
Budgeting; aboriginal affairs


Paul Shaker, dean of education, 604.291.4183; pshaker@sfu.ca
B.C.'s education issues

Milt McClaren, (in Kelowna); 1.250.764.8781; milt_mcclaren@sfu.ca
Education issues, focusing on curriculum, technology


Mark Wexler, business, 604.291.4250, 604.738.2366; mark_wexler@sfu.ca
Government and ethics


Rick Routledge, statistics, 604.291.4478; routledg@stat.sfu.ca
Fish farming; sea lice

Health/Social programs

Diane Finegood, kinesiology, 604.268.6598, inmd3@sfu.ca
Issues related to fitness/physical activity, given the recent focus on healthy living in the provincial budget

Gloria Gutman, gerontology, 604.291.5063; gutman@sfu.ca (away April 28-May 14)
Seniors issues

David MacLean, director, institute for health research and education, 604.291.5361; dmaclean@sfu.ca
Health policy, primary care, public health, chronic disease prevention, health promotion, global health

Barbara Mitchell, sociology/gerontology, 604.268.6628/291-5234; barbara_a_mitchell@sfu.ca
Issues affecting families/seniors

Tom Koch, gerontology, 604.714.0348; tomkoch@kochworks.com
Health and disabilities

Dan Weeks, psychology, 604.291.3358; daniel_weeks@sfu.ca
Health and disabilities

Andrew Wister, gerontology, 604.291.5044; wister@sfu.ca
Health, aging, demographic issues


Don DeVoretz, economics, 604.291.4660; don_devoretz@sfu.ca
Immigration issues in B.C.

Parin Dossa, sociology, 604.291.3778; parin_dossa@sfu.ca
Immigration issues in B.C.


Shinder Purewal, adjunct professor, political science, 604.729.4592 (cell); spurewal@sfu.ca
The ethnic vote


Lynda Erickson, 604.291.4357; erickson@sfu.ca
Elections, campaigns, gender gap issues

Marjorie Griffin-Cohen, political science, 604.291.5838; mcohen@sfu.ca
Political economy, economic gender equality; author of a chapter in Governing Under Stress (Dec. 2004)

Andrew Heard, political science, 604.291.3043; andrew_heard@sfu.ca
The Single Transferable Vote (STV); political parties, election process

David Laycock, political science, 604.291.3089; laycock@sfu.ca
Political analysis

Doug McArthur, public policy program, 604.291.5208; doug_mcarthur@sfu.ca
The Single Transferable Vote (STV)

Gary Mauser, business, 604.291.3652; gary_mauser@sfu.ca
Political analysis/polls

Lindsay Meredith, business, 604.291.5554; lindsay_meredith@sfu.ca
Political and election analysis

Kennedy Stewart, public policy program, 604.268.7913; kennedys@sfu.ca
Elections, government. His students are involved in polling projects, including public safety perceptions and charitable giving


Tom Gunton, director, resource and environmental planning program, 1.250.477.7601, tgunton@shaw.ca
Environmental and resource issues, economic development

Mark Jaccard, resource and environmental management, 604.291.4219; mark_jaccard@sfu.ca (away until May 11)
Energy issues

Peter Mustard, earth sciences, 604.291.5389; pmustard@sfu.ca
Resource issues, including oil and gas

Peter Williams, director, centre for tourism policy and research., 604.291.3103; peter_williams@sfu.ca
Tourism issues/the 2010 Olympics