June 27, 2013 Meeting Summary

Board Members present:  B. Taylor, Chair; A. Petter, President; L. Brown-Ganzert; J. Francis;
A. Giardini; W. Grant-John; J. Hinchliffe; J. Kim; C. Kwon; Y. Norouzi; D. Poole; P. Ruben; J. Singh

Regrets:  B. Cunningham; C. Taylor


A.        Finance and Administration

a.         Fundraising Progress Reports: The Board noted year-to-date progress reports as follows:


Fundraising Progress Report
For Information
2013/2014 Year to Date

To May 31, 2013



b.         The Board approved the Terms of Reference for the:

  •         Artemis Fund in the Faculty of Health Sciences;
  •         Steven Shane Annual Undergraduate Scholarship Endowment Fund;
  •         Library Research Collections Endowment Fund;
  •         Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology (FCAT) Dean’s Strategic Priorities Fund;
  •         Gordon Smith Undergraduate Award;
  •         Takao Tanabe Undergraduate Award;
  •         Janine Amanda Lauer Memorial Bursary Endowment Fund; and
  •         HSBC LGBT Student Award.

c.         The Board approved the Institutional Accountability Plan and Report for 2013/14 to 2015/16 to be presented to the
            Ministry of Advanced Education.

d.         The Board endorsed the Sustainability Strategic Plan 2013-2016, that aims to improve the University’s ability to respond
             to the requirements of the Sustainability Policy (GP 38) adopted in 2008.

e.         The Board received a report from the Vice-President, Finance and Administration summarizing the major activities and
            initiatives in the departments within her portfolio.

B.         Academic Operations

a.         Matters dealt with by Senate on June 10, 2013 were noted for information.

b.         The Board received for information the following new and revised academic policies negotiated between the University
            and the Simon Fraser University Faculty Association:  new Policy A 11.10 – Teaching Professor; revised and renamed
            Policy A 12.13 – Practitioner Faculty; consequential revisions to Policy A 12.01 – Teaching Faculty.

C.        Other

a.         The Board Chair welcomed the following new Board members:

  •         Yasmine Norouzi, graduate student, and Caleb Kwon, undergraduate student, elected by students to replace A. Hall and A. Pilarinos
            from June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014; and
  •         Peter Ruben, elected by faculty to replace N. Schmitt from June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2016.

b.         The President informed the Board that he and the Vice-President, External Relations recently had positive meetings wtih the new
            Minister of Advanced Education and with the Deputy Minister of Technology, Innovation and Citizens' Services.

c.         President Petter commented on the success of the June Convocation ceremonies during which honorary degrees were
            conferred on seven distinguished individuals.

d.         President Petter reported that in the 2013 Times Higher Education world rankings of 100 universities under 50 years old,
            SFU has improved its ranking to 26th in the world and third overall in Canada.

e.         The President commented on a number of activities scheduled for fall 2013, including the launch of the 50th Anniversary
            Campaign on September 9 at SFU Burnaby and September 10 in Vancouver, the Terry Fox Run on September 20, SFU
            Public Square’s an Evening with Nobel Prize winning economist Dr. Joseph Stiglitz on October 3, and Convocation
            ceremonies on October 10 and 11.

f.          The Board received a report from the Vice-President, Research on research-related matters and notable achievements.

g.         The Vice-President, Academic reported that the decanal appointments in Health Sciences, Graduate Studies and
            Business have each been renewed.  The process for potential reappointments in the Faculties of Applied Sciences,
            Education, and Communication, Art and Technology will be done following the open search that is currently underway in



A.        Finance and Administration

a.         The Board received the fundraising progress report for May 2013.

b.         Subject to a positive consultation with Senate, the Board approved the Naming of the Observatory and Science
            Courtyard.  Senate subsequently endorsed the naming on July 8, 2013.

c.         Other matters were discussed.

B.         Academic Operations

a.         Faculty Appointments

            The following academic appointments were approved and have been accepted:

  • Dr. Liangliang Wang, Assistant Professor, Statistics and Actuarial Science, 1 Sep 13 – 31 Aug 17
  • Dr. Peter Gorniak, Assistant Professor, Interactive Arts and Technology, 15 Aug 13 – 31 Aug 17
  • Dr. Aaron Windel, Assistant Professor, History, 1 Sep 13 – 31 Aug 17
  • Dr. Christopher Bidner, Assistant Professor, Economics, 1 Jan 14 – 31 Aug 17
  • Dr. David Thomas, Beedie School of Business, Beedie Professorship, 1 Sep 14 – 31 Aug 19
  • Dr. Laura Marks, Contemporary Arts, re-appointed Dena Wosk Endowed Professor, 1 Jul 13 – 30 Jun 18
  • Dr. Jeffrey Warren, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, 1 Sep 13 – 31 Aug 17

b.         Other

            The Board approved:

  • A modified appointment (75%) in History for a further one-year period, 1 Sep 13 – 31 Aug 14

C.        Other

a.         The Board received the President’s Activities Report for May 2013.

b.         Other matters were discussed.

The next Board of Governors meeting will be held at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday, September 26, 2013 in the Halpern Centre, Room 126, SFU Burnaby.