Faculty Profiles

Teaching/Research Faculty

Blaber, Dr. Andrew

Blaber, Dr. Andrew
Associate Professor

Aerospace Physiology Lab
Phone:
(778) 782-3276
Email: ablaber@sfu.ca
Courses:
BPK 205, BPK 484


Research Interests:
Environmental and Aerospace Physiology

Brooks-Wilson, Dr. Angela

Brooks-Wilson, Dr. Angela
Professor & Associate Chair
Cancer Genetics Lab
Phone:
(778) 782-3889 or (604) 675-8156
Email: arw6@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 420 (Special Topics: Medical
                                   Genetics) BPK 140


Research Interests: Cancer Genetics, genetics of healthy aging, lymphoma, human genetics

Clarke, Dr. David

Clarke, Dr. David
Assistant Professor
Phone: (778) 782-9777
Email:
dcclarke@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 344 

Research Interests: quantitative studies of exercise biology

Claydon, Dr. Tom

Claydon, Dr. Tom
Associate Professor
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group
Phone: (778) 782-8514
Email:
thomas_claydon@sfu.ca
Courses:
 BPK 305, BPK 412


Research Interests:cardiac ion channel biophysics and physiology, cardiac rhythm, pathophysiological modulation of ion channel function, fluorescence-based electrophysiology

Claydon, Dr. Victoria

Claydon, Dr. Victoria
Associate Professor
Cardiovascular Physiology Lab
Phone: (778) 782-8513
Email: victoria_claydon@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 305, BPK 444


Research Interests: 
cardiovascular physiology and pathophysiology; altitude physiology; cerebrovascular control; autonomic nervous system; spinal cord injury; syncope.

Cupples, Dr. Will

Cupples, Dr. Will 
Professor
Phone: (778) 782-9084
Email: wcupples@sfu.ca 

Donelan, Dr. Max

Donelan, Dr. Max 
Associate Professor 
Locomotion Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-7100 
Email: max_donelan@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 308 


Research Interests: Locomotion Neuromechanics

Finegood, Dr. Diane

Finegood, Dr. Diane 
Professor & President / CEO of MSFHR 
Chronic Disease Systems Modelling Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-6707 
Email: finegood@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: obesity, chronic disease prevention, complex systems, modeling, population and public health, knowledge translation, evidence-based practice

Hoffer, Dr. Andy

Hoffer, Dr. Andy
Professor
Neurokinesiology Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3141 
Email: hoffer@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 448, BPK 836 


Research Interests: Neuroprosthetic rehabilitation of movement disorders, diaphragm pacing

Krieger, Dr. Charles

Krieger, Dr. Charles
Professor
Brain Research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3753 
Email: charles_krieger@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 306, BPK 446 


Research Interests: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, protein kinase, neurological disease, neuron death, motoneuron                           

 

Lear, Dr. Scott

Lear, Dr. Scott
Professor 
Community Health Research Team (CoHeaRT)
Phone: (778) 782-7916 
Email: salear@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 806 


Research Interests: cardiac rehabilitation, obesity, lifestyle management, physical activity

Mackey, Dr. Dawn

Mackey, Dr. Dawn 
Assistant Professor 
Aging and Population Health Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-9330 
Email: dmackey@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK304W 


Research Interests: Aging, mobility, disability, physical activity & function, osteoporosis, falls, epidemiology

Marigold, Dr. Dan

Marigold, Dr. Dan 
Associate Professor 
Sensorimotor Neuroscience Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3499 
Email: daniel_marigold@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 207, BPK 415 


Research Interests: neural control of movement, visuomotor control, locomotion, falls

Parkhouse, Dr. Wade

Parkhouse, Dr. Wade
Professor & Dean of Graduate Studies 
Metabolic Biochemistry Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4109 
Email: wade_parkhouse@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 375, BPK 430 

Research Interests: exercise physiology and biochemistry

Robinovitch, Dr. Stephen

Robinovitch, Dr. Stephen 
Professor 
Injury Prevention and Mobility Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3566 
Email: steve_robinovitch@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 201, BPK 402


Research Interests: biomechanics, falls and fall-related injuries in the elderly

Poburko, Dr. Damon

Poburko, Dr. Damon
Assistant Professor 
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group 
Phone: (778) 782-9464 
Email: dpoburko@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 305 


Research Interests: Vascular Smooth Muscle Structure-Function Relationships & Physiology, Mitochondrial Physiology, Synaptic Physiology

Rosin, Dr. Miriam

Rosin, Dr. Miriam 
Professor 
Cancer Prevention Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4589 
Email: rosin@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 431, BPK 851 


Research Interests:Identification of Molecular Alterations Predicting Cancer Development

Ruben, Dr. Peter

Ruben, Dr. Peter
Professor and Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies, Faculty of Science
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Phone: (778) 782-3497
Email: pruben@sfu.ca 
                                         Courses: BPK 205 


Research Interests: biophysics of ion channels, congenital heart disease, congenital epilepsy, congenital skeletal muscle disease, ion channel evolution

 

Tibbits, Dr. Glen

Tibbits, Dr. Glen 
Professor and Chair 
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Phone: (778) 782-4062 
Email: glen_tibbits@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 305, BPK 412, BPK 812


Research Interests: Molecular cardiac physiology, cardiac contractility, congenital heart disease, calcium regulation in the heart

Vieira, Dr. Amandio

Vieira, Dr. Amandio
Associate Professor 
Nutrition and metabolism research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4251 
Email: avvieira@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 311, BPK 850 


Research Interests: nutrition and metabolism, dietary antioxidants and phytochemicals, cellular and nutrient transport

Wakeling, Dr. James

Wakeling, Dr. James
Professor 
Neuromuscular Mechanics Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-8444 
Email: wakeling@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 208, BPK 301


Research Interests: Neuromusclar Mechanics

White, Dr. Matthew

White, Dr. Matthew 
Associate Professor 
Lab for Exercise and Environment Physiology 
Phone: (778) 782-3344 
Email: matt@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 305 


Research Interests: Human temperature regulation, control of breathing and energy expenditure

Teaching Faculty

Anthony, Dr. Josephine

Anthony, Dr. Josephine 
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4185 
Email: Josephine_anthony@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 325, BPK 326, BPK, 336, BPK 426 

Research Interests: Histopathological effects in Neurotoxicity

Arnold, Anne-Kristina

Arnold, Anne-Kristina
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-5213
Email: aarnolda@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 180, BPK 381, BPK 423, BPK 486, BPK 488 

Research Interests: Ergonomics, design, occupational environments, RSIY

Asmundson, Craig

Asmundson, Craig 
Senior Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-4231 
Email: craig_asmundson@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 142, BPK 407

Bedoya, Diana

Bedoya, Diana
Lecturer, Limited Term
Phone: (778) 782-6623
Email: dbedoya@sfu.ca
Courses:  BPK 110, BPK 140
Research Interests: Obesity, behaviour change, weight management

Brown, Stephen

Brown, Stephen 
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4122 
Email: sbrown@sfu.ca 
Courses:  BPK 140, BPK 340, BPK 382, BPK 407, BPK 481

Research Interests: Active health, ergonomics, musculoskeletal injuries, functional capacity evaluation, and human performance

Dill, Ryan

Dill, Ryan 
Senior Lecturer /
Undergraduate Program Chair

Phone: (778) 782-7851 
Email: ryand@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 105C, BPK 110, BPK 310, BPK 343

Leyland, Tony

Leyland, Tony 
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4338 
Email: leyland@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 143/143C, BPK 201, BPK 301, BPK 342, BPK 343, BPK 380

Research Interests: active health, physical conditioning of elite athletes, nutrition, biomechanics, human physical performance and fitness assessment

Walsh, Dr. Michael

Walsh, Dr. Michael
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4065 
Email: Michael.walsh@shaw.ca 
Courses: BPK 142, BPK 305, BPK 375

Ward, Dr. Richard

Ward, Dr. Richard 
Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-5677 
Email: richard_ward@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 303, BPK 304, BPK 375

Professors Emeriti-ae

Dr. Parveen Bawa
Neurophysiology Lab
Email:
bawa@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Neuroscience, spinal cord, reflexes, motoneuron

Dr. Tom Calvert (Joint Appt with Cmpt, Ensc and Kines)
Email:
tom@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Human figure animation (dance) and human computer interaction

Dr. Allan Davison
Email:
adavison@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Biochemistry, oxygen and antioxidant vitamins

Dr. John Dickinson
Email: johnlizatmb@hotmail.com
Research Interests: Motor learning and human factors

Dr. David Goodman
Email:
goodman@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Motor control and learning

Dr. Christine MacKenzie
Human Motor Systems Lab
Email:
christine_mackenzie@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Motor control, human skills, human-computer interaction, laparoscopic surgery, expression and music performance

Dr. Ron Marteniuk
Email:
ron_marteniuk@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Motor control, motor learning and interlimb coordination

Dr. James Morrison
Email:
jmorriso@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Bioengineering and environmental ergonomics

Dr. William Ross
Phone:
(604) 531-5049
Email: rosscraft@shaw.ca

Research Interests:
Kinanthropometry

Dr. Hal Weinberg
Email:
hweinber@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Electrophysiology of information processing and complex behaviour

Associate Members

DR. M. FAISAL BEG
Email: mfbeg@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Computational anatomy and medical image analysis

DR. GLENN CHAPMAN
Email: glennc@encs.sfu.ca
Research Interests: Building, techniques, and design of Large Area Restructurable Silicon Systems

DR. JONATHAN CHOY
Email: jonathan.choy@sfu.ca
Research Interests: T-cell biology, transplantation immunology, and vascular biology

DR. BONNIE GRAY
Email: bgray@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) and microfluidics as applied to medicine and biology

DR. CARLO MENON
Email: cmenon@encs.sfu.ca
Research Interests: Robotics and Biomimetics

DR. ANDREW RAWICZ
Email: rawicz@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Reliability physics and engineering; optic device engineering; medical engineering; biomedical engineering

DR. MARINKO V. SARUNIC
Email: msarunic@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Biomedical imaging, optical coherence tomography (OCT), microscopy, low-coherence interferometry, BioMEMS

DR. EDGAR YOUNG
Email: youngec@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Biochemistry

Adjunct Professors

Dr. Fabio Feldman
Email: fabio.feldman@fraserhealth.ca
Research Interests: Biomechanics, falls and injury prevention

Dr. Michael Koehle
Email: koehle@interchange.ubc.ca
Research Interests: Environmental physiology; intermittent hypoxia and acute mountain sickness

Dr. Leif Hove-Madsen
Email:  LHove@csic-iccc.org
Research Interests: Cardiac physiology

Dr. Peter J. Pretorius
Email: peterp@sfu.ca
Research Interests: Physiology of aging

Dr. Shubhayan Sanatani
Email: ssanatani@cw.bc.ca
Research Interests: Cardiovascular physiology and medicine

Dr. A. William Sheel
Email: bill.sheel@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Exercise, cardio-respiratory and environmental physiology

Dr. Robert A. Strath
Email: strath@interchange.ubc.ca
Research Interests: Optometry; effects of aging on vision; effects of diving on ocular tissues, ergonomics of vision and computer use

Dr. Darren E. R. Warburton
Email: darrenb@interchange.ubc.ca
Research Interests: Cardio-respiratory physiology, environmental physiology and rehabilitation science

Dr. Lewei Zhang
Email: leweizhang888@gmail.com
Research Interests: Oral carcinogenesis