Affiliated Faculty

Robert Anderson

Professor, Communication.
International development and communication; South Asia, Indonesia.
robert_anderson@sfu.ca

Yildiz Atasoy

Professor, Sociology.
Development studies; gender relations; Islamic politics; Turkey, Middle East.
yatasoy@sfu.ca

Len Berggren

Professor Emeritus, Mathematics.
History of mathematical sciences in ancient Greece and medieval Islam.
berggen@sfu.ca

Hugo Cardoso

Assistant Professor, Department of Archaeology.
Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology; child health in medieval Portugal; the bioarchaeology of Muslim Portugal.
hcardoso@sfu.ca

Luke Clossey

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCSMSC.
Comparative world history of religions; early modern China, Mexico, Mughals.
clossey@sfu.ca

Parin Dossa

Professor, Anthropology.
Migration, gender and health; Muslim women; Iranians in the diaspora.
pdossa@sfu.ca

Aude-Claire Fourot

Assistant Professor, Political Science
Immigration and integration; multiculturalism; Islam in Europe and Canada; religion and public sphere; urban policy.
afourot@sfu.ca

Graham Fuller

Adjunct Professor, History.
Islamism and North American foreign policy as it relates to the Muslim world.
bozorgg@aol.com

Andre Gerolymatos

Chair, Hellenic Studies; Professor, History.
Hellenism; Greek-Turkish military history; international relations and Muslim politics.
agerolym@sfu.ca

Adel Iskandar

Assistant Professor of Global Communication; Advisory Board Member of CCSMSC.
Social media, communications, modern Middle East, post colonialism.
adel_iskandar@sfu.ca

Thomas Kuehn

Associate Professor, History; Director of CCSMSC. 
Social and cultural history of the Ottoman empire and Turkey.
thomas_kuehn@sfu.ca

Sonja Luehrmann

Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Anthropology of religion; Russia/Soviet Union; atheism and secularism: Orthodox Christianity; Muslim populations; interreligious relations.
luehrmann@sfu.ca

Derryl MacLean

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCSMSC.
History of religion; Islamics; early modern South and Central Asia; Islam in the West.
maclean@sfu.ca

Laura Marks

Dena Wosk Professor in Art and Culture Studies.
Cinema in the Arab world; Islamic genealogy of new media art.
lmarks@sfu.ca

Tamir Moustafa

Associate Professor and Stephen Jarislowsky Chair, School for International Studies.
Law and society; religion and politics; politics of the Middle East.
tmoustafa@sfu.ca

Paul Sedra

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCSMSC.
Modern Middle East; education and the rise of the modern state; Egyptian cinema.
pdsedra@sfu.ca

Ken Seigneurie

Professor, Program in World Literature.
Modern Arabic, French and British fiction, literary theory and the history of humanist thought.
kseigneu@sfu.ca

Ozlem Sensoy

Associate Professor, Education.
Constructions of Muslims in North America through education and media.
ozlem_sensoy@sfu.ca

Azadeh Yamini-Hamedani

Assistant Professor, Comparative World Literature; Advisory Board Member of CCSMSC.
Interconnections of literature and philosophy, emphasis on the semiotics of translation.
azadeh_yamini-hamedani@sfu.ca

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Gender, Sexualituy and Women's Studies.
Women and development; globalization and women's work; Bangladesh.
hzaman@sfu.ca