Simon Fraser University, named after explorer Simon Fraser, opened in September 1965. In 40 years, SFU has gained an international reputation for its strengths in the liberal arts and sciences, as well as for its innovative interdisciplinary and professional programs. It has been rated as Canada's best comprehensive university five times (1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, and 2000) in the annual rankings of Maclean's magazine and has consistently placed at, or near, the top of the magazine's national evaluations.

The University has three campuses: the main Burnaby campus, the Harbour Centre campus in downtown Vancouver, and the Surrey campus in Surrey. SFU offers programs at the graduate and undergraduate level to approximately 25,000 students.

The Centre for Natural Hazard Research is housed in the Department of Earth Sciences at the Burnaby Mountain Campus of Simon Fraser University in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada. Both the Department and the Centre moved to the new Technical and Sciences Complex (TASC1) in 2005.

index sfu mandate members publications types of hazards risk gallery links contacts workshops newsletters