Part-time, in class Urban Design Certificate

Courses

Core courses (complete all six)

Theory and Practice   URBD780
Wed–Thu, September 26-27, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm

Visual Communication   URBD786
Fri–Sat, September 28-29, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm

Economic Fundamentals   URBD785
Wed–Thu, November 14–15, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm

Ecological Planning and Sustainable Design   URBD787
Wed–Thu, April 11–12, 2018, 9 am-5:30 pm
Wed–Thu, April 10–11, 2019, 9 am-5:30 pm

Studio I: Analytic Tools   URBD778
Thu–Sat, January 25–27, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm
Thu–Sat, January 31–February 2, 2019, 9 am–5:30 pm

Studio II: Synthesis of Urban Form   URBD779
Thu–Sat, May 31–June 2, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm
Thu–Sat, May 30–June 1, 2019, 9 am–5:30 pm

Elective courses (complete two)

Note: at least one elective must be from the urban design list.

Urban design electives (URBD)

Public Realm   URBD789
Thu–Fri, April 13–14, 2018, 9 am–5:30 pm

Implementation Methods   URBD791
Fri–Sat, November 16–17, 2018, 9 am-5:30 pm

Urban Vitalization   URBD784
April 12-13, 2019, 9 am-5:30 pm

Next-generation transportation electives (NGTC)

Next-Generation Cities and Transportation   NGTC101
October 1 - December 17, 2018, 12 weeks, online

Dialogue and civic engagement electives

In certain cases, and with prior program approval, you may take select dialogue and civic engagement courses as electives. Contact Frank Pacella at citymgr@sfu.ca for details.

Register for an individual urban design course

If you’re not ready to enroll in the Urban Design Certificate, you can start with one or two courses if space is available. You do not need to apply or pay an application fee; simply register and pay the course fee online.

If you complete individual courses, you may apply them to the certificate after we accept your application, provided you submit all your assignments on time.