WIL: EQUITY, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION RESOURCES

WIL EDI VISION, MISSION & VALUES

VISION

To help WIL students, staff, and employers skillfully prepare to respectfully bridge, engage, and learn from diverse relationships.

MISSION

To support the diverse WIL community in an ever-changing world through evidence-based approaches to build and deliver accessible and inclusive curricula and pedagogy, as well as empowering others to navigate and apply intercultural and equity frameworks in their work and in their lives.

VALUES

Our work demonstrates a commitment to meeting students where they are at and applies asset framed models to diverse populations.

We value and are committed to:

  • Cultural humility – we respectfully acknowledge ourselves as learners when it comes to understanding one another’s experience.
  • Experiential learning – taking knowledge outside of the classroom not only builds better career ready skills, but also builds better relationships within our communities.
  • Research informed practices – approaching EDI requires that each opportunity be met with a scholarly understanding of the material and an assessment of the outcomes.
  • Collaboration – working in relationship with diverse knowledges and lived experiences makes for stronger curricula.

Programs and Resources

Meet the Team

Heather Williams

Project Manager: WIL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

778-782-9920
heather_w@sfu.ca

Zoreen Nuraney

Program Coordinator: WIL Accessibility

778-782-6745
znuraney@sfu.ca

Akanksha Thakur

Program Coordinator: WIL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Hub / ACCE

778-782-3455
arthakur@sfu.ca

Simran Ahmed

Educator: WIL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

simran_ahmed@sfu.ca

Tomke Augustin

Manager: WIL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Curriculum

778-782-6571
tomke_augustin@sfu.ca

Saraan Jiwani

Design Assistant: WIL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

604-906-0238
incl_design@sfu.ca

Timothy Michel

Co-op Indigenous Coordinator

timothy_michel@sfu.ca

Dennis Limbo

Accessibility Digital Project Assistant

accessible_wil@sfu.ca