About the Centre: History

The Centre for Policy Studies on Culture and Communities (CPCC) grew out of a multi-year project teaching cultural policy at SFU in partnership with local arts and community groups. From 2005–2008, SFU, in partnership with the Creative City Network of Canada, conducted a cross-Canada review of the State of Canadian built cultural infrastructure assembling a Center for Expertise on Culture and Communities, with a separate advisory board of notable cultural scholars. In 2008, SFU’s Senate approved the permanent Centre, renaming it the Center for Policy Studies on Culture and Communities. The CPCC reports to the Dean of the Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology (FCAT) in SFU.

Since 2012 the CPCC has established eight working groups based on the research and collaborations of its interdisciplinary members. The working groups include the following: Intersectional Research on Indigeneity, Migration and Race; the Politics of Territory, Memory, Cultural Translations; Cultural Policy (the Arts, Community and Civil Spaces); and the Critical, Creative Methodology ("community engagement"/knowledge).