Dave and Ann Trick Family Foundation Doctoral Award in Political Science

A member of the board of directors at the Dave and Ann Trick Family Foundation, Dr. Nancy Teeple came to SFU for doctoral studies following her work as a strategic analyst with the Canadian Army Land Warfare Centre at CFB Kingston. She studied international security and strategy and explored the implications of offensive nuclear deterrence systems for arms control and overall strategic stability.

As one of SFU's most outstanding graduate students from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Dr. Nancy Teeple was recognized with the award of the Dean of Graduate Studies Convocation Medal in June 2018. Grateful for the support and guidance from her professors at the Department of Political Science, as well as internal and donor-funded awards received throughout her studies at SFU; Dr. Teeple is motivated to give back and support an outstanding doctoral student in SFU's Department of Political Science. This award was established at Simon Fraser University in 2018 through a generous gift from the Dave and Ann Trick Family Foundation.

Terms of Reference

  1. The purpose of this award is to recognize and provide financial support to an outstanding doctoral student enrolled in SFU's Department of Political Science.
  2. One award will be granted in the Fall 2020 term to a student who fulfills the following criteria:
    1. is registered full-time at Simon Fraser University in a PhD program in the Department of Political Science;
    2. has demonstrated academic excellence at the graduate level;
    3. has completed a minimum of two term’s matriculation at SFU;
    4. has been assigned a thesis supervisor; and
    5. demonstrates promise of outstanding achievement at the doctoral level with particular emphasis on intellectual ability and originality.
  3. This award may be held in conjunction with other awards made by Simon Fraser University or other agencies where permitted by those agencies.
  4. Applications will be made via the Graduate Awards, Application and Adjudication System (GA3). Required documents include:
    1. copies of post-secondary transcripts; 
    2. a two-page essay addressing originality of their research thesis;
    3. a letter of reference from an SFU faculty member familiar with the applicant's work; and
    4. a curriculum vitae summarizing scholastic achievements and work experience relevant to the aims of this scholarship.
  5. Upon nomination of the Graduate Chair, Department of Political Science; this award will be granted by the Dean and Associate Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies on behalf of the Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee.

May 2020/ GPSR099


Other Political Science Scholarships