Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Research Profile: Daniella Sieukaran, Psychology

August 08, 2012
Print

For Daniella Sieukaran, a clinical psychology MA student in SFU’s Department of Psychology, it all began with Hollywood. When she was in Grade 10, Daniella and her fellow classmates watched the film A Beautiful Mind, about mathematician John Nash’s struggle with schizophrenia. That pivotal moment created a deep curiosity about the human brain and its vulnerabilities to mental illness which has brought her to SFU's graduate program. 

Daniella is the 2012/2013 recipient of the MD Angus & Associates Graduate Fellowship in Psychology, and she was one of five SFU graduate students short-listed for the 2012–2013 CIHR Canada Graduate Scholarship Master’s Award.

In 2010, she completed a Specialized Honours Bachelor of Arts in Psychology at York University, graduating cum laude. At York, Daniella was the recipient of many awards and distinctions, including a “full-ride” scholarship. After working as a Lab Manager for a year, Daniella moved from Brampton, Ontario to pursue a Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology, with a Child Clinical specialization.

At SFU, she is a member of the Weight and Eating Lab (WEL), under the supervisor of Dr. Shannon Zaitsoff in a unique clinical psychology program, where she receives general training to work with adult clients, as well as specialized training to work with children and adolescents.

For the past six years, Daniella’s primary research and clinical interests have been disordered eating and body image, with a focus on protective and social factors. Her Master’s thesis will explore a positive psychology approach to family meals, investigating the roles of the healthy eater self-schema, parental and adolescent body appreciation, and family mealtime rules. She is fascinated with the intricate connections between mental illness and physical consequences on the body. Her research into eating disorders merges her two passions: psychology and science.

Daniella’s presentation and publication record is impressive: She has had a combined total of 23 presentations (paper sessions, poster sessions, workshops, invited presentations and colloquia). Most recently, her research has been presented as far as Texas and Halifax. She also has one peer-reviewed publication and three peer-reviewed conference proceedings, with four manuscripts she is currently working on.

In addition to her research, and developing her clinical and teaching skills, Daniella is a Student Representative for the Senate Graduate Studies Committee and the First Year Clinical Representative for the Psychology Graduate Student Caucus. 

She's also currently an entrant in the 2-Minute Thesis competition, and would appreciate your votes.

Fruit photo: Kaileigh Simons Photography (ksimons@sfu.ca)

Daniella's research on "drunkorexia" went out around the world! Here are the links.

Original Media Release
http://www.sfu.ca/pamr/media-releases/2012/drunkorexia-leads-students-to-risky-behaviour.html

Original Research Article
http://www.sfu.ca/sfunews/stories/2012/drunkorexia-leads-to-risky-behaviour.html

Television

1) CBC BC http://www.cbc.ca/player/News/Canada/BC/ID/2266572035/

2) Global BC http://www.globaltvbc.com/video/+drunkorexia+++drinking+and+dieting+concerns/video.html?v=2267438348#stories/video

3) CTV Morning Live Saskatoon – no web link

4) CTV BC – no web link


Radio

1) KIRO 97.3 FM, Seattle (Morning News with Bob Larson)

2) KVI 570 AM, Seattle (Smart Talk Mornings)

3) CFAX 1070 AM, Victoria (Dave Dickson)

4) CHQR 770 AM & CHED 630 AM, Alberta (Rutherford with Dave Rutherford)

5) CKNW 980 AM, Vancouver (Morning News with Phillip Till)

6) CBC Radio One 99.1 FM, Toronto (Here and Now)

 

Articles

1) Canadian Press à not available to the public

2) Vancouver Sun (August 12th)

http://www.vancouversun.com/health/researchers+link+dieting+binge+drinking+study+drunkorexia/7079202/story.html

3) Vancouver Sun (August 14th): http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7086370/story.html

4) Canada.com (August 12th) http://www.canada.com/health/researchers+link+dieting+binge+drinking+study+drunkorexia/7079202/story.html

5) Canada.com (August 13th)

http://www.canada.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

6) The Province (August 12th) http://www.theprovince.com/health/researchers+link+dieting+binge+drinking+study+drunkorexia/7079245/story.html

7) The Province (August 13th) http://www.theprovince.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

8) Calgary Herald (August 12th) http://www.calgaryherald.com/health/researchers+link+dieting+binge+drinking+study+drunkorexia/7079245/story.html

9) Calgary Herald (August 13th) http://www.calgaryherald.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

10) Psycholo.gy (August 12th) http://psycholo.gy/sfu-researchers-link-dieting-and-binge-drinking-in-study-of-drunkorexia/

11) Psycholo.gy (August 13th) http://psycholo.gy/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study/

12) 4 Web Info http://4webinfo.ca/news/?p=12307

13) Metro News Canada http://metronews.ca/news/vancouver/334203/drunkorexia-not-so-healthy-way-to-have-a-good-time/

14) Regina Leader-Post http://www.leaderpost.com/health/Dieting+binge+drinking+linked+study+drunkorexia/7079202/story.html

15) My Northwest (KIRO FM) http://mynorthwest.com/11/721988/Study-Drunkorexia-the-new-way-to-avoid-the-freshman-15

16) CBC http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/story/2012/08/13/bc-drunkorexia-sfu-study.html

17) Coquitlam Now  http://www.thenownews.com/health/Drunkorexia+risk+campus+researcher/7092020/story.html

18) Sun News Network http://www.sunnewsnetwork.ca/sunnews/lifestyle/archives/2012/08/20120813-152440.html

19) Ottawa Citizen http://www.ottawacitizen.com/health/researchers+link+dieting+binge+drinking+study+drunkorexia/7079202/story.html

20) Toronto Sun http://www.torontosun.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

21) Windsor Star http://www.windsorstar.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

22) Montreal Gazette http://www.montrealgazette.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating/7084579/story.html

23) Edmonton Journal http://www.edmontonjournal.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating/7084579/story.html

24) 24 Hours Vancouver http://vancouver.24hrs.ca/Lifestyle/2012/08/13/20098791.html

25) London Free Press http://www.lfpress.com/life/healthandfitness/2012/08/13/20098776.html

26) Victoria Times Colonist http://www.timescolonist.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

27) Canoe http://chealth.canoe.ca/channel_health_news_details.asp?news_id=33001&news_channel_id=159&channel_id=159

28) Yahoo News http://ca.news.yahoo.com/binge-drinking-dieting-linked-drunkorexia-study-150508464.html

29) Post Media News http://o.canada.com/2012/08/13/drunkorexics-shun-food-in-favour-of-booze-at-risk-of-eating-disorders/

30) Wordpress http://happolatismiscellany.wordpress.com/tag/university-students/

31) Prevention News http://preventionworksct.blogspot.ca/2012/08/binge-drinking-dieting-linked-in.html
32) Recent News http://www.recentnews.ca/dieting-and-binge-drinking-linked-in-sfu-study-of-drunkorexia/

33) Medical Xpress http://medicalxpress.com/news/2012-08-drunkorexia-students-risky-behaviour.html

34) Info W5 http://infow5.com/actualite/?p=6301

35) Straight.com http://www.straight.com/article-754571/vancouver/news-youse-athletes-return-vancouver-drunkorexia-recognized-and-jennifer-aniston-engaged

36) Medical Daily: http://www.medicaldaily.com/news/20120813/11471/binge-drinking-drunkorexia-dieting-alcohol.htm

37) Sympatico.ca News http://news.sympatico.cbc.ca/Home/ContentPosting?feedname=CBC-TOPSTOIRES-V3&newsitemid=bc-drunkorexia-sfu-study

38) MSN News http://news.ca.msn.com/top-stories/binge-drinking-dieting-linked-in-drunkorexia-study-1

39) Star Phoenix http://www.thestarphoenix.com/health/Drunkorexics+shun+food+favour+booze+risk+eating+disorders/7084579/story.html

40) Pro Ana Online http://proanaonline.com/?p=10895

41) Calorie Calculator http://caloriecalculator.biz/calories/calories-drunkorexics-who-shun-food-in-favour-of-booze-at-risk-of-eating-disorders/

42) eHealth http://ehealthy.blogspot.ca/2012/08/latest-news-drunkorexia-too-much-booze.html

43) Winnipeg Sun http://www.winnipegsun.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

44) Ottawa Sun http://www.ottawasun.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

45) Calgary Sun http://m.calgarysun.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

46) Edmonton Sun http://m.edmontonsun.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study?noimage=true

47) Sarnia Observer http://www.theobserver.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

48) St. Catherine’s Standard http://www.stcatharinesstandard.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

49) Midland Free Press http://www.midlandfreepress.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

50) Windsor This Week http://www.windsorthisweek.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

51) Paris Star http://www.parisstaronline.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

52) Niagara Advance http://www.niagaraadvance.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

53) Lakeshore Advance (Grand Bend, ON) http://www.lakeshoreadvance.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

54) Sault Star http://www.saultstar.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

55) Welland Tribune http://www.wellandtribune.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

56) Niagara Falls Review http://www.niagarafallsreview.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

57) Kingston This Week http://www.kingstonthisweek.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

58) Napanee Guide http://www.napaneeguide.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

59) Clinton News Record http://www.clintonnewsrecord.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

60) The Pembroke Daily Observer http://www.thedailyobserver.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

61) Amherstburg Echo http://www.amherstburgecho.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

62) Strathroy Age Dispatch http://www.strathroyagedispatch.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

63) Northumberland Today (Cobourg, ON) http://www.northumberlandtoday.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

64) Brantford Expositor http://www.brantfordexpositor.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

65) Seaforth Huron Expositor http://www.seaforthhuronexpositor.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

66) Lucknow Sentinel http://www.lucknowsentinel.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

67) Owen Sound Sun Times http://www.owensoundsuntimes.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

68) Brockville Recorder http://www.recorder.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

69) Barrie Examiner http://www.thebarrieexaminer.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

70) Peterborough Examiner http://www.thepeterboroughexaminer.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

71) The Kingston Whig-Standard (Kingston, ON) http://www.thewhig.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

72) Sudbury Star http://www.thesudburystar.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

73) The Belleville Intelligencer http://www.intelligencer.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

74) Orillia Packet and Times http://www.orilliapacket.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

75) Stratford Beacon Herald http://www.stratfordbeaconherald.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

76) North Bay Nugget http://www.nugget.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

77) Mitchell Advocate http://www.mitchelladvocate.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

78) Simcoe Reformer http://www.simcoereformer.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

79) Wiarton Echo http://www.wiartonecho.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

80) Kenora Daily Miner and News http://www.kenoradailyminerandnews.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

81) Cornwall Standard Freeholder http://www.standard-freeholder.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

82) St. Thomas Times Journal http://www.stthomastimesjournal.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

83) Portage Daily Graphic http://www.portagedailygraphic.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

84) Trenton Trentonian http://www.trentonian.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

85) The Lindsay Post http://www.thepost.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

86) Goderich Signal Star http://www.goderichsignalstar.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

87) Tillsonburg News http://www.tillsonburgnews.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

88) Kincardine News http://www.kincardinenews.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

89) Ingersoll Times http://www.ingersolltimes.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

90) Delhi News Record http://www.delhinewsrecord.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

91) Ganonoque Reporter http://www.gananoquereporter.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

92) The Londoner http://www.thelondoner.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

93) The Post (Hanover, ON) http://www.thepost.on.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

94) Norwich Gazette http://www.norwichgazette.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

95) Bancroft This Week http://www.bancroftthisweek.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

96) Dunnville Chronicle http://www.dunnvillechronicle.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

97) Woodstock Sentinel Review http://www.woodstocksentinelreview.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

98) Wallaceburg Courier Press http://www.wallaceburgcourierpress.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

99) West Elgin Chronicle (West Lorne, ON) http://www.thechronicle-online.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

100) Community Press (Stirling, ON) http://www.communitypress.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

101) The Collingwood Enterprise Bulletin http://www.theenterprisebulletin.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

102) Sarnia and Lambton County This Week http://www.sarniathisweek.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

103) Frontenac This Week (Kingston, ON) http://www.frontenacthisweek.com/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

104) Leamington Post and Tri-Town News http://www.leamingtonpost.ca/2012/08/13/mixing-dieting-binge-drinking-dangerous-study

105) Burnaby Now http://www.burnabynow.com/health/Teen+travels+through+city/7104528/story.html

106) Canada.com Blog http://blogs.canada.com/2012/08/16/drink-tank/

107) Care2 http://www.care2.com/causes/booze-not-food-say-drunkorexics.html

108) FASS @ SFU e-Newsletter  http://www.fass.sfu.ca/newsletter

109) The Peak (featured on the front page) http://www.the-peak.ca/2012/09/the-dangers-of-drunkorexia/

 

Other Languages

110) Spickmich (Germany) http://www.spickmich.de/news/201208142300-drunkorexia-erste-studie-zum-stoerungsbild

111) World Journal (Vancouver) http://www.worldjournal.com/view/full_news/19781958/article-%E7%AF%80%E9%A3%9F%E5%BE%8C%E7%8B%82%E9%A3%B2%E9%85%92-%E6%98%93%E7%99%BC%E5%8D%B1%E9%9A%AA%E6%80%A7%E8%A1%8C%E7%82%BA?instance=news_pics

112) Short News (Germany) http://www.shortnews.de/id/977647/Kanada-Drunkorexia-Langzeitstudie-enthullt-erschreckende-Ergebnisse

113) Sing Tao Daily (Vancouver) http://news.singtao.ca/vancouver/2012-08-14/community1344939622d4030597.html

114) I Ask (Vancouver) http://www.iask.ca/news/canada/2012/0812/150333.html

No comments yet

Recent Blog Posts

  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Presentation October 16, 2017
    Dr. Chris Orvig will be visiting the SFU Burnaby campus to present on the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany. The foundation has extremely generous programs for both postdocs and faculty members, sponsoring stays in Germany for many research fields.

  • SFU-ARC Calls to Action Presentation October 16, 2017
    Witness the presentation of the SFU-ARC calls to action for reconciliation to SFU President Andrew Petter, October 16, 2017.

  • Professional Photo Shoot October 2017 October 13, 2017
    Get your professional portrait taken by SFU's official photographer on October 24, 2017. Free for grad students and postdocs!

View Posts by Category