Events and Conferences

Three Minute Thesis Finals

March 02, 2015

You're invited to the Finals for the 2014 Three Minute Thesis Competition, where we'd like you to help us select one of the best graduate student presenters at SFU.

  • Monday, March 9, 5:15–7:30 pm, K9500
  • Finals will begin at 5:30 pm sharp. Please arrive by 5:15 pm so that competitors aren't distracted by latecomers.)
  • Note: This event will not be webcast
  • Reserve your seats

This is an unparalleled interdisciplinary opportunity for you to hear about the interesting research that's taking place around the university, as well as to pick up some presentation techniques from some of the best graduate student presenters at SFU — and all in 3-minute segments.


  • Senay Cebioglu (Turkey), Psychology: Becoming Human: Developing Self-Awareness
  • Emanuela Mileva (Canada/Bulgaria), Linguistics: Getting to know your patient: talk in alternative medicine sessions as a blend of mainstream medicine and psychotherapy
  • Wendy Dallian (Canada), Comparative Media Arts: Cinematic realism
  • Ming Hui Yu (Canada/China), Beedie School of Business: Automated generation of classical Chinese poetry
  • Thea Rutherford (Bahamas), Education: Wandering as Metaphor and Practice in Teaching and Learning
  • Kathleen LeBlanc (Canada), Archaeology: These Pots Are Not Like the Others: Exploring Lapita Interaction Through Pottery Design Analysis
  • Laure Spake (France), Archaeology: Age estimation in forensic anthropology
  • Karen Cochrane (Canada), Interactive Arts and Technology: E-Health Technology for Mental Health
  • Evgeny Vinnik (Russian Federation), Computing Science: Mobile Technologies
  • Amir Maravandi (Iran), Mechatronic Systems Engineering: Regenerative Shock Absorber 
  • Jeremy Chiu (Canada), Mathematics: Modelling Thermoregulation of Swarming Honeybees
  • Antonia Musso (Canada), Biology: Reduction of Bait Box Neophobia in House Mouse with use of Social Pheromones


The best presenter across the university will receive $1,000.

The second place finisher will receive $500.

The audience at the Finals will be polled to select a finalist as the People's Choice winner, who will receive $250.

Judges for the finals

  • Anne Giardini, Chancellor
  • Joy Johnson, VP Research
  • Jon Driver, VP Academic
  • Sarah Temple, Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
  • Yosef Wosk, OBC


Recent Blog Posts

  • Mitacs Training Workshops: Spring 2018 December 15, 2017
    Mitacs is offering the following workshops at SFU in Spring 2018, free to graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

  • Summer Research Fellowship: St Andrews Visiting Scholars Scheme December 13, 2017
    The Visiting Scholarships are intended to give researchers at any level access to the University of St Andrews Library's extensive Special Collections. Successful candidates will receive financial support up to a maximum of £1,500 to cover travel and accommodation for a period of 2-8 weeks between July 1 and August 31, 2018. Apply by January 12, 2018.

  • Nominations Open for Sterling Prize in Support of Controversy December 13, 2017
    Nominations are now being accepted for the Nora and Ted Sterling Prize in Support of Controversy. The prize is awarded annually for work that presents new daring and creative ways of looking at the world. Submit nominations for consideration by February 15, 2018.

View Posts by Category