Events and Conferences

TED2017: The Future You – Live Streamed at SFU’s Big Data Hub

April 24, 2017

SFU is pleased to live stream TED2017: The Future You at SFU’s Big Data Hub from April 24-28 inclusive.

During this exciting week, over 70 speakers - including Elon Musk, Serena Williams, Noriko Arai, Garry Kasparov, Cathy O'Neil, and Noah Feldman - will explore scientific advances, psychological insights, and the latest inventions while asking the questions on what qualities can make us into better people, and make the our world a better place to be.

We invite the entire SFU community to join us in the Presentation Studio at the Hub (ASB 10900) to watch the livestream. Free admission.

  • Session 1: One Move Ahead begins at 5:00pm today (Laura Galante, Garry Kasparov, Anab Jain, OK Go, Tim Ferriss, Huang Yi, Joshua Roman, Titus Kaphar, Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks)
  • Session 2: Our Robotic Overlords starts at 8:30am on Tuesday April 25 (Marc Raibert, Noriko Arai, Stuart Russell, Joseph Redmon, Tom Gruber, Radhika Nagpal)
  • For the full program and talk start times, please see:

Recent Blog Posts

  • Mitacs Training Workshops: Spring 2018 December 15, 2017
    Mitacs is offering the following workshops at SFU in Spring 2018, free to graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

  • Summer Research Fellowship: St Andrews Visiting Scholars Scheme December 13, 2017
    The Visiting Scholarships are intended to give researchers at any level access to the University of St Andrews Library's extensive Special Collections. Successful candidates will receive financial support up to a maximum of £1,500 to cover travel and accommodation for a period of 2-8 weeks between July 1 and August 31, 2018. Apply by January 12, 2018.

  • Nominations Open for Sterling Prize in Support of Controversy December 13, 2017
    Nominations are now being accepted for the Nora and Ted Sterling Prize in Support of Controversy. The prize is awarded annually for work that presents new daring and creative ways of looking at the world. Submit nominations for consideration by February 15, 2018.

View Posts by Category