Dates and Deadlines

Note: Enrollment for the Summer 2020 term begins online on Monday, March 2nd, 2020.

Leaves of absence requests should be submitted before the term begins.

May 4-22, 2020 Bursary application period (bursaries are awarded based on financial need: international students are eligible).
Monday, May 8-17, 2020 You can enroll yourself and/or your spouse/dependent in the Graduate Health and Dental Plan (only if you started school in May).
Monday, May 11, 2020 Summer term classes begin.
Friday, May 15, 2020 Deadline for submitting a U-Pass BC Exemption request for Summer 2020. Requests must be submitted by 4:30 pm PST.
Monday, May 18, 2019 Victoria Day. All classes cancelled and offices closed.
Monday, May 25, 2020

Grad tuition and fees (including co-op practicum fees) are due and payable. A 2% penalty will be calculated and posted to your student account every month.

Last day for graduate students to enroll through self-service (late enrollment deadline)

Last day to drop with 100% refund of tuition and ancillary fees. 

If you were eligible for the May U-Pass BC, there is no refund of the May U-Pass BC but you will be refunded for the June-August U-Pass BC.

Last day to change from credit to audit grade basis.

Friday, May 29, 2020

Last day for receipt of grades deferred from the Spring term.

Early Completion submission deadline of Thesis at 4:00pm.

Sunday, May 31, 2020

Last day to drop with a 75% refund of tuition. No refund of May U-Pass BC and ancillary fees.

Only applicable to new international students: Last day to opt out of Guard.Me@SFU (see medical insurance deadlines).

Monday June 1, 2020 Last day to drop with no notation on transcript.
June 9-12, 2020 Convocation for students who completed in Spring 2020.
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 Last day to drop with a 50% refund of tuition. No refund of ancillary fees.
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Canada Day Closure. All classes are cancelled and offices are closed.
Monday, July 6, 2020 Registration opens for Fall 2020 term.
Friday, July 17, 2020 Deadline for other Western universities to receive application forms from SFU graduate students to take courses elsewhere under the Western Dean's Agreement for Fall 2020.
Monday, July 20, 2020 Last day for graduate students to drop classes with a WD on their transcripts.
Monday, August 3, 2020 BC Day closure. All classes cancelled and offices are closed.
Monday, August 10, 2020 Last day of classes.
August 12-22, 2020

Examination period.

If you are a current TA and want to pay to extend your TSSU medical insurance for up to two terms, application forms are due by the end of the term.

Friday, August 14, 2020 Last day for graduate students who completed in Summer 2020 to apply for graduation (October convocation).
Wednesday, August 26, 2020 Grade deadline for Summer 2020.
Monday, August 31, 2020

Submission of all graduate degree requirements for 2020 Summer term (must be submitted to library by 4:00pm PST if submitting in person).

Last day for graduate students to drop classes under special procedures applicable in extenuating circumstances (WE on transcript).  Any WE requests received for the Summer 2020 term after this date will be considered as a retroactive WE.