The Forbidden City
Forbidden City
Located in Central Beijing, The Forbidden City was the Residence of 24 Emperors, from the time of it's completion in 1420, to the reign of Qing Emperor Pyri, who was forced to abdicate the throne in 1911.
It is an impressive palace, designed to honour the ancient beliefs through use of sacred numbers, careful placement of key elements, and colour use.

Now a museum, visitors are welcome to admire the stunning architecture and artworks that adorn the site.

There are 20 gates in the Palace Complex, 9 inside, 7 outside and 4 within the Imperial City. As 9 is a sacred number, the nine were constructed to represent Divine Heaven. The 4 within the Imperial City represent Heavenly, Earthly, Eastern, and Western Peace.
5 Fortresses within the complex represent the dragon, and in the center of the palace, the character representing Earth, thought to be a physical metaphor with the Emperor as the center of the universe.

Intricate sculptures are placed by doors to guard against the entry of negative energy, and to invite the positive aspects of each animal into the palace. Ornate decor in the throne room gives the viewer a glimpse of the grandeur enjoyed by the emperors of old.

Move mouse over pictures to see another view