Faculty and Staff

The Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies is proud to have 20 Associate Faculty members from 12 different departments/programs plus the library.

Jorge Calderón
Associate Professor, French
French & Quécébois Literature, Contemporary French & Québécois Cinema, Cultural Studies, and Literary Theory

calderon@sfu.ca
778-782-7638
WMC 1628


Elise Chénier
Professor, History
History; sexuality and gender

echenier@sfu.ca
778-782-8573
AQ 6222
webpage...


Dara Culhane
Professor, Anthropology
Colonialism, neo-colonialism and postcolonialism; subalternity; gender, generation and sexuality; Indigenous peoples of Canada; Ireland.

culhane@sfu.ca
AQ 5072


Peter Dickinson
Professor, English and the School for the Contemporary Arts; Director, Institute for Performance Studies
Performance studies, dance and theatre studies, film studies, comparative Canadian cultural studies: with queer theory and gender studies always the connecting thread

peter_dickinson@sfu.ca
AQ 6117
webpage...


Parin Dossa
Professor, Anthropology
Migration, gender and health; critical feminist anthropology; aging, culture and health; politics of disablement; violence, witnessing and narratives; Muslim Women

pdossa@sfu.ca
778-782-3778
AQ 5060
webpage...


Evdoxios Doxiadis
Assistant Professor, Hellenic Studies
Modern Greek Social History; Gender; Minorities; Mediterranean and Balkan History

edoxiadi@sfu.ca
778-782-9603
AQ 6201


Sheri Fabian
Senior Lecturer, Criminology
Criminal harassment; intimate partner violence, research methods, policy analysis, academic dishonesty.

sfabian@sfu.ca
778-782-8136
SWH 10330


Olena Hankivsky
Professor, School of Public Policy

Gender and health policy; social policy, especially violence against women

olena@sfu.ca


Genevieve Fuji Johnson
Associate Professor, Political Science
Contemporary Anglo-American political theory, feminist social and political thought, ancient Greek political thought, and a range of current public policy issues

genevieve_johnson@sfu.ca
webpage...


Willeen G. Keough
Professor, History
Gender history (Canada, Ireland, Britain, US), ethnicity, immigration, masculinities, oral history

wkeough@sfu.ca
778-782-5526
webpage


Christine Kim
Associate Professor, English
Asian North American literature and theory, contemporary Canadian literature, feminist theory, print publics, and diasporic writing

christine_kim_4@sfu.ca

778-782- 4314
AQ 6110


Moninder Lalli
Liaison Librarian

Business at Vancouver; Sociology/Anthropology; GSWS, Labour Studies; and South Asian Initiatives.

You can schedule one-to-one research consultations at 778.782.4264 or moninder_lalli@sfu.ca


Kirsten McAllister
Associate Profesor, School of Communications
Visual culture, Cultural theory and forms, Cultural memory, Political violence, Asylum and displaced populations, Japanese/Asian Canadian cultural studies

kmcallis@sfu.ca
webpage...


Bidisha Ray
Senior Lecturer, History
Modern (post- 1757) South Asia, imperialism, gender, sexuality, popular religious practice, public theatre in colonial societies, historical anthropology; especially ethno-history, history of prostitution, postcolonial studies and transnational histories.

bidisha_ray@sfu.ca
AQ 6241


Deanna Reder
Associate Professor, English
Indigenous literatures in Canada, Indigenous literary theories and epistemologies, and autobiography theory

Deanna_Reder@sfu.ca
webpage...


Özlem Sensoy
Associate Professor, Faculty of Education
Social justice education, critical multicultural education, anti-oppression education, anti-racism and whiteness studies, critical media literacy, popular culture of youth, Middle East & Islamic cultures in school, feminist postcolonial theory, visual research methods 

ozlem@sfu.ca
webpage...


Lisa Shapiro
Professor, Philosophy

History of modern philosophy, feminism and philosophy, philosophy of emotions (and so moral psychology and philosophy of mind), philosophy of personal identity

lisa_shapiro@sfu.ca
webpage...


Diana Solomon
Associate Professor, English
Restoration and eighteenth-century theatre, comedy, performance studies, and print culture

https://dianasolomon.wordpress.com/

diana_solomon@sfu.ca
778-782-5436


Jennifer Spear
Associate Professor, History
Early North American history; gender and sexuality; comparative colonization, slavery, and race

jennifer_spear@sfu.ca
webpage...


Ann Travers
Associate Professor, Sociology
Sociological theory (feminist and queer); gender and technology; sociology of sport; social issues and movements.

atravers@sfu.ca
webpage...
BC Women’s Health Research Network - Trans Inclusion Workshop featuring Ann Travers