The Humanities Student Union was established in 1995 by founding members Roger Farr, Aaron Vidaver, Gregory Placanouris, Ella Ophir, Steven Ward, Cathy Larman and others. Initial activities included sponsoring some films in conjunction with the English Student Union, securing a student common room in the AQ and hosting some socials. In 1999, Humanities was given department status, and students were able to formally sit on department committees.


The Humanities Student Union is currently active and always welcomes new and enthusiastic members. Please meet our current steering committe:

  • Sara Wong, President, FASS DSU Rep, Council Rep, Co-Treasurer, Co-Social Media Manager
  • Lauren Thomson, Vice President, Department Rep, Secretary, Co-Treasurer, Co-Social Media Manager


Participation in your Humanities Student Union connects students to a group of people with common interests, dedicated to making the most of their university experience.

Student Representatives
Student input is a respected and integral part of the department's policy and the following
committees need student representatives:

Humanities Department:
Up to 2 student representatives elected by the Student Union. Attend Department meetings (2 to 4 per semester) and have voting  privileges. Term of office to be set by the Student Union. Department meetings are scheduled as required on Thursdays at 11:30 in AQ5118.

Humanities Undergraduate Curriculum Committee:
One student representative elected to a one-year term.

inter/tidal journal
inter/tidal is an interdisciplinary journal published by Simon Fraser University’s Humanities Student Union. (on hold)

Messages for the Humanities Student Union can be emailed to