Faculty Members (SFU)

Gail Anderson

Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-3589
Email: ganderso@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Forensic science; use of science in criminal justice; forensic, medical and veterinary entomology; poaching and wildlife trade.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/~ganderso/

Eric Beauregard

Professor, School of Criminology; Director, Centre for Research on Sexual Violence

Phone: (778)-782-8134
Email: ebeaureg@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Decision-making; offending process; modus operandi; situational approach to crime; sex offending; homicide; criminal profiling; psychology of criminal investigation; clinical criminology; typologies; (critical) quantitative methods.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/crsv.html

Lynne Bell

Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-7240
Email: lynneb@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Forensic spectometry; human regionalism; remote sensing and detection; physical anthropology; international crimes and genocide.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/~lynneb/

Peter Borwein

Professor, Department of Mathematics; Executive Director, IRMACS

Phone: (778)-782-4376
Email: pborwein@irmacs.sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Number theory; analysis; combinatorics; computational mathematics and mathematic modelling.

Website: http://www.cecm.sfu.ca/~pborwein/

Martin Bouchard

Associate Professor, School of Criminology; Director, International Cybercrime Research Centre

Phone: (778)-782-8135
Email: mbouchard@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Illegal drug markets; criminological theory; criminal careers; criminal achievement and failure; criminal innovations; crime trends; police effectiveness; estimating the size of criminal populations.

Website: http://www.mbcriminology.com/

Neil Boyd

Professor, School of Criminology; Director, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-3324
Email: nboyd@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Critical analysis of Canadian criminal law; homicide; Canadian narcotics legislation; the legal control of pornography; workplace violence; biology of male and female violence.

Website: http://www.neilboyd.net/

Raymond Corrado

Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-3629
Email: corrado@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Youth violence; comparative juvenile justice; terrorism; mental health and crime; victimization; evaluation research; political crime.

Garth Davies

Associate Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-4764
Email: garthd@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Political terrorism; communities and crime; housing and crime; policing; criminological theory; statistical analyses and research methods.

Suzana Dragicevic

Professor, Department of Geography

Phone: (778)-782-4621
Email: suzanad@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Spatial data analysis; GIS/GIScience; complex systems theory; remote sensing; cartography.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/dragicevic/

Stephen Easton

Professor, Department of Economics

Phone: (604)-291-3565
Email: easton@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: International trade; economic history; costs of crime.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/~easton/

Martin Ester

Professor, School of Computing Science

Phone: (604)-291-4411
Email: ester@cs.sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Data mining algorithms; text and web mining; mining biological databases; foundations of data mining; spatial databases and geographic information systems.

Website: http://www.cs.sfu.ca/~ester/

Uwe Glasser

Professor, School of Computing Science

Phone: (778)-782-6775
Email: uwe@irmacs.sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Formal aspects of software technology; industrial applications of formal methods and security informatics.

Website: http://www.cs.sfu.ca/~glasser/

Nick Hedley

Associate Professor, Department of Geography

Phone: (778)-782-4515
Email: hedley@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Geographic and spatial visualization; advanced interface research; GIS; cartography; spatial cognition.

David MacAlister

Associate Professor, School of Criminology; Associate Director of Planning, Policy and Procedure

Phone: (778)-782-3019
Email: dmacalis@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Criminal law; criminal procedure and evidence; civil liberties; sentencing theory; restorative justice; police powers; wrongful conviction; legal responses to terrorism; mental health law; legal aspects of youth justice.

Gary Mauser

Professor Emeritus, Marketing, Beedie School of Business

Phone: (604)-291-3652
Email: mauser@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Research on persuasion in marketing and in legal issues; criminology research.

Website: http://www.garymauser.net/

Walter Piovesan

Director, Research Data Library (Retired)

Nadine Schuurman

Professor, Department of Geography

Phone: (604)-291-3320
Email: schuurman@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Geographic information science; spatial data and integration; health sciences.

Website: http://www.sfu.ca/gis/schuurman/

Andrew Sixsmith

Professor, Department of Gerontology; Director, Gerontology Research Centre

Phone: (778)-782-5375
Email: sixsmith@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Health and quality of life of older people; the role of health and social care services.

Simon Verdun-Jones

Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-3032
Email: verdunj@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Criminal law; procedure and evidence; Canadian and international mental health law and policy; criminal law reform; comparative criminal law and procedure; mentally disordered offenders.

Ke Wang

Professor, School of Computing Science

Phone: (778)-782-4667
Email: wangk@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Privacy protected data mining; algorithms; bioinformatics; constrained data mining.

Website: http://www.cs.sfu.ca/people/Faculty/Profile/wangk.html

 

JF Williams

Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics; Executive Director, IRMACS

Phone: (778)-782-4544
Email: jfw@math.sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Artial differential equations; adaptive numerical methods; asymptotic analysis and mathematical modeling.

Website: http://people.math.sfu.ca/~jfwillia/index.html

Jennifer Wong

Assistant Professor, School of Criminology

Phone: (778)-782-8148
Email: jenwong@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Policy analysis; program evaluation; quantitative research methods; cost-benefit analysis; meta-analysis and systematic review; crime prevention/reduction; youth crime and violence; risk factors and predictors of antisocial behaviour/crime; recidivism.

Denise Zabkiewicz

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

Phone: (778)-782-8646
Email: denise_zabkiewicz@sfu.ca

Areas of Interest: Issues of employment and mental health within the context of US welfare reform policy and a rapidly changing labor market.