May 20, 2018

Winners of all 3 ICA Medal types in the SFU Mathematics Department

The Institute of Combinatorics and its Applications (ICA) awards three types of medals to recognize excellent contributions to combinatorial research: the Kirkman Medal for early career researchers, the Hall Medal for mid-career researchers, and the Euler Medal for lifetime career contributions.

The ICA did not award medals during the period 2009 to 2016, but has now overcome organizational difficulties and a Medals Committee has been processing retrospective medal nominations for the missing years. As a result, Kai-Uwe Schmidt (postdoctoral fellow at SFU 2008 to 2011, now a tenured faculty member at the University of Paderborn) has been awarded a 2010 Kirkman Medal, and Bojan Mohar has been awarded a 2010 Euler Medal. These two awards, together with the previous award of a Hall Medal to Jonathan Jedwab in 2005, mean that in 2010 and 2011 there were winners of all three ICA Medal types in the SFU Mathematics Department!

A list of all ICA Medal winners so far announced can be found at

Click On Photos for Full Award Citations!

2010 Euler Medal - Bojan Mohar
2005 Hall Medal - Jonathan Jedwab
2010 Kirkman Medal - Kai-Uwe Schmidt