Applied Mathematics

Our Research

The Applied Mathematics Research Group is one of the largest and most forward-thinking in Canada. Research in this group spans a broad variety of modern topics in applied mathematics, ranging from numerical analysis and scientific computing to modelling and rigorous analysis. Most of this research focuses on nonlinear partial differential equations and their wide applications across the sciences. Numerical and computational topics include compressed sensing, computational fluid dynamics, numerical methods for PDEs on surfaces, image and signal processing, spectral methods, medical imaging, integral equation methods, and adaptive mesh methods. Topics in modelling and applied analysis include the study of differential equation models in areas such as atmospheric sciences, kinetic theory, fluid dynamics, cognitive science, mathematical biology and self-organizing behaviour, as well as computational spectral theory and  convergence and error analysis of numerical methods.

Our department offers graduate programs (MSc and PhD) in the area of applied and computational mathematics. More information about these programs can be found on the graduate section of the department's website here: http://www.sfu.ca/math/graduate/programs.html. The applied mathematics group runs a weekly seminar on Fridays at 2:30. Information about upcoming talks can be found on the department's calendar of events on the home page here: http://www.sfu.ca/math.html.

 

Faculty

Ben Adcock

Numerical Analysis, Applied and Computational Harmonic Analysis, Compressed Sensing

Razvan Fetecau

Applied PDE Analysis, Self-Organizing Behaviour

Mary Catherine Kropinski

Computational Fluid Dynamics, Integral Equation Methods

David Muraki

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, Asymptotic Methods

Nilima Nigam

Numerical Analysis, Spectral Methods, Mathematical Biology

Steve Ruuth

Scientific Computing, PDE's On Surfaces

John Stockie

Computational Fluid Dynamics, Industrial Mathematics

Weiran Sun

Applied PDE Analysis, Kinetic Theory

Manfred Trummer

Scientific Computing, Medical Imaging

Paul Tupper

Stochastic Differential Equations, Cognitive Science

JF Williams

Scientific Computing, Adaptive Methods

Ralf Wittenberg

Fluid Dynamics, Mathematical Epidemiology

Robert Russell - Professor Emeritus

Numerical Analysis, Adaptive Mesh Methods.

Postdoctoral Fellows
 

Name   Email Supervisor Date
Evers, Joep
jevers@sfu.ca R. Fetecau
15.09.01-16.08.31
Jenkins, Gavin gjenkins@sfu.ca     P. Tupper
15.09.01-16.08.31

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Ambrozic, Martin mambrozi@sfu.ca
Chen, Tian tca71@sfu.ca
Goodman, Benjamin bgoodman@sfu.ca
Hossain, Alamgir mahossai@sfu.ca
Hosseini, Bamdad bhossein@sfu.ca
Janbek, Bebart bjanbek@sfu.ca
King, Nathan nathank@sfu.ca
Kovacic, Mitchell mkovacic@sfu.ca
Nakano, Sonoko snakano@sfu.ca
Petras, Argyrios apetras@sfu.ca
Sui, Yi ysui@sfu.ca

M.Sc. Students

Chow, Kevin kjc19@sfu.ca
Garcia, Juan Gabriel jggarcia@sfu.ca
He, Bolong bolong_he@sfu.ca
Jian, Jie jie_jian@sfu.ca
May, Ian mayianm@sfu.ca
Mirazimi, Saeed smirazim@sfu.ca
Mulberry, Nicola nicola_mulberry@sfu.ca
Wai, Benny bcwai@sfu.ca
Walsh, Raymond rpwalsh@sfu.ca
Wang, Xinyi xwa130@sfu.ca
Wishart, Riley rwishart@sfu.ca
Zarrinderakht, Maryam mzarrind@sfu.ca

Links

- PIMS (Pacific Institute of Mathematical Sciences)

- MITACS (Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems)

- IRMACS (Interdisciplinary Research in the Mathematical and Computational Sciences)