Announcing the 2009 Community Award for Engaged Citizenship Recipients…

Students joined SFU Volunteer Services on September 24 to recognize and celebrate the wonderful volunteer work individuals and student groups did on campus and in the community. The award ceremony was packed with people from various disciplines, ages and years of volunteer experience. Regardless of their obvious differences, they are connected by one common quality – a sustained and devoted commitment to engaged citizenship.

The nominees demonstrated engaged citizenship by their acts of learning from and contributing to SFU and the society through volunteerism and civic participation. Below are the 2009 award recipients for the SFU Community Award for Engaged Citizenship:

• Adeelah Saad
• Anees Bahji
• Benjamin Lee
• Brittany Fraser
• Claudia Li
• Karra Barron
• Kathryn Ovenell-Carter
• Katie Leathem
• Katy Law
• Madiha Mahmood
• Melissa Woodward
• Ray Zhang
• Rishma Johal
• Tamara Hansen
• Tarlochan Chane
• Wai-Ying Chau
• William Tong

Student Groups & Organizations
• Archaeology Student Society (ASS)
• Geek Week Organizing Committee
• Love Your Neighbor Club
• Management Information Systems Association (MISA)
• SFU Orientations
• SFU Peer Educators
• Student for Mental Wellness
• Student Marketing Association (SMA)
• Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE)
• The Point

Missed the ceremony and wish you could attend? No worries! We took some photos so check out our gallery below!