The University Radiological Safety Committee

The authority to implement and enforce the radiation protection program rests with the University Radiological Safety Committee (URSC). The Committee derives its authority from the Board of Governors, through the office of the Vice-President, Research. The role of the URSC is given specifically in Policy R20.04 (see 'Radiation Safety Manual'), Radiological Safety at SFU.

In general, the URSC acts as the internal auditor of the functioning of the radiation safety program at SFU, annually reviewing the program and monitoring actions taken by the Radiation Safety Office for non-compliance with regulations. Committee members of the URSC have either expertise and experience in the use of radiological materials or can act as representatives of the concern of a sub-group within the University. Members are appointed by the Vice-President, Research.