President's Award for Leadership in Sustainability 2020

Call for nominations now open

Simon Fraser University is seeking nominations for the prestigious President's Award for Leadership in Sustainability 2020. The award recognizes members of SFU's faculty, staff and student community who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in advancing the cause of sustainability within and/or beyond the university. The winners will be chosen by the President, with support from a Selection Committee made up of representatives from the President’s Office, the Sustainability Office, Embark Sustainability, faculty and staff. The award will be presented to the recipients at the SFU Awards Dinner in March 2020.

Nominations are accepted in the following categories:

  • Individual student leaders
  • Individual faculty leaders
  • Individual staff leaders
  • Group leaders (any project or collaboration where any combination of two or more SFU community members have jointly advanced the cause of sustainability)

To submit a nomination:

  • Download and fill out this nomination form
  • Write a letter of nomination addressing how the nominee(s) exemplifies qualities characterizing leadership in sustainability, including:
    • Advancement of community understanding of sustainability, including awareness of the interrelationships among ecological, economic and social factors
    • Active promotion of sustainable practices and processes
    • Participation in sustainability activities within their community
    • Leadership on key sustainability issues in society
  • Provide supporting documents (optional):
    • Curriculum vitae or an outline of the nominee’s/group's achievements, including the group's connection to SFU
    • Any other appropriate materials, such as new articles, publications, etc.
    • Additional letters of support
  • Submit the nomination form and documents to Connie Norton at by November 22nd, 2019


Call for nominations has now closed. Thank you for your nominations!

Interested in learning more? View the 2019 award recipients here.

Specific questions about the award and the nomination process can be directed to Connie Norton, Sustainability Office, at