Terry Fox Gold Medal Award

Graduate student Luke Galvani, the 2017 winner of SFU's Terry Fox Gold Medal, doesn't let his disability define his options.

Simon Fraser University's Terry Fox Gold Medal Award is a prestigious award that includes a plaque, a $1000 cash prize and further funding for tuition.

The award is presented annually at the Terry Fox Run ceremony (Burnaby campus) to a student who has demonstrated courage in the face of adversity and possesses qualities becoming of a role model.

The recipient of the 2017 SFU Terry Fox Gold Medal Award is Luke Galvani, who is pursuing a Master of Arts in degree in communication.  

About the award

Terry Fox was a Kinesiology major and a junior varsity basketball player at SFU when he was diagnosed with cancer in 1977. Since Terry's Marathon of Hope in 1980, The Terry Fox Foundation has raised over $700 million for cancer research from annual fundraising walk/run events across Canada and around the world.

The terms of reference for the award are as follows:

“The Terry Fox Gold Medal is awarded to a person who has demonstrated those personal qualities of courage in adversity and dedication to society which have been exemplified by Terry Fox and his Marathon of Hope.”

What does this statement mean?

  • “Courage in adversity” – someone who has shown courage in dealing with a life threatening disease or a significant disability.
  • “Dedication to society” – that person described above who has gone on to help other people in similar situations, and serve as a role model for those people.

Eligibility for the award in a given year – you must have been a student, staff or faculty member at SFU. To be eligible as a student, you must have been enrolled as a student at SFU and have been in full time attendance for at least one of the three previous terms – Summer, Fall or Spring. For more specific information, please contact Financial Aid and Awards at Simon Fraser University at 778.782.6930. 

How to apply

If you are interested in applying, please submit a cover letter and at least one reference letter to Financial Aid and Awards at faawards@sfu.ca by the May 17th application deadline.

Terry Fox Gold Medal and Prize Recipients

(UUAO-001, GUTO-001)

  • 1999 - Candice Odgers
  • 1998 - Gabrielle Girun
  • 1997 - Craig Asmundsen
  • 1996 - (none)
  • 1995 - (none)
  • 1994 - Lynn Ivy Wageler
  • 1993 - Calvin Todd Wong
  • 1992 - Carla Mae Salvail
  • 1991 - Daniel Janzen (deceased)
  • 1990 - Jennifer Ann Miller
  • 1989 - Robert K. Barraclough
  • 1988 - Sherri Lynn Selby
  • 1987 - Mrs. Terry Fowler
  • 1986 - David M. Walton
  • 1985 - Rick Hansen
  • 1984 - (none)
  • 1983 - Laurette C. Yelle
  • 1982 - Derek Isobe/Denice Holst
  • 1981 - (none)
  • 1980 - Terry Fox