issues and experts

B.C. Wildfires 2017: SFU experts for commentary

August 10, 2017
Print

As fires continue to burn across B.C., these Simon Fraser University experts are available to provide commentary:

Kenneth Lertzman, resource & environmental management, can speak on the ecology of fire and other natural disturbances in B.C.’s forests, fire history in B.C.’s forests, fire-climate relationships, forest ecosystem resilience and forest management.

250.333.8600, kenneth_lertzman@sfu.ca  (email is the best way to arrange interviews)

Ryan Allen, health sciences, can speak on the impact smoke has on health.

778.238.7590, allenr@sfu.ca

Tim Takaro, health sciences, can speak on the relationship between climate change and wildfires in B.C. and how it’s contributing to cardiorespiratory disease.

778.782.7186, ttakaro@sfu.ca

Lindsay Meredith, business, can speak on the economic impact forest fires will have on B.C.

778.782.5554, meredith@sfu.ca

Rob Gordon, criminology, can speak on predators at disaster scenes and what police are doing to prevent these undesirables from invading vulnerable properties.

778.782.9739, rgordon@sfu.ca

Contact:
Justin Wong, University Communications, 778.782.3035/778.782.5151, jrwong@sfu.ca