issues and experts

Updated: SFU experts available to discuss COVID-19

July 10, 2020
Print

CONTACT:
Shradhha Sharma; University Communications and Marketing, 604.202.2504, shradhha_sharma@sfu.ca
Melissa Shaw; University Communications and Marketing, 236.880.3297, melissa_shaw@sfu.ca

* Indicates additions to the list

Simon Fraser University faculty experts continue to be available to comment on the impact of COVID-19. The latest additions to our experts’ list include faculty in health science, business and economics, criminology, environment, psychology, media and politics.

Topics:

HEALTH

Fiona Brinkman, molecular biology and biochemistry, brinkman@sfu.ca

  • Self-isolation and preventing the spread of COVID-19

Lieke Ten Brummelhuis, Beedie School of Business, ltenbrum@sfu.ca


  • Managing stress and stay focused while working remotely

Caroline Colijn, Canada 150 Research Chair in Mathematics for Evolution, Infection and Public Health, ccolijn@sfu.ca (has limited availability)


  • COVID-19 infection, mathematical model

  • Role of data modeling in predicting disease spread
  • Effectiveness of physical distancing



Scott Lear, Pfizer/Heart & Stroke Foundation Chair in Cardiovascular Prevention Research, health sciences, 604.454.8542, slear1970@gmail.com

  • Maintaining personal and physical health while working from home

Anne-Kristina Arnold, biomedical physiology and kinesiology, anne_kristina_arnold@sfu.ca

  • Ergonomics and working from home
  • Assessing the effectiveness of work stations
  • How to make work station improvements for the longer term

Priyanka Mishra, Pio Lab, molecular biology and biochemistry, 210.454.1341, priyankamishra62@gmail.com


  • Boosting immune systems

BUSINESS & ECONOMICS

Terri Griffith, Keith Beedie Chair in Innovation & Entrepreneurship, terri_griffith@sfu.ca

  • Online learning
  • Remote work and the government's plan to mobilize industry to fight COVID-19
  • Strategies for returning to offices

Sarah Lubik, director, entrepreneurship/innovation, Beedie School of Business, slubik@sfu.ca


  • Challenging companies to develop technology, products and solutions for COVID-19

Andrey Pavlov, Beedie School of Business, 604.763.3696, apavlov@sfu.ca


  • Financial impacts
 
  • Stock markets and long-term economic prospects

Jeremy Stone, director of SFU’s community economic development program, jeremy_stone@sfu.ca

  • Economic recovery after disasters

  • Economic resilience planning
  • Economic development for community well-being

Kendra Strauss, labour studies, kstrauss@sfu.ca


  • Labour markets
  • Wages, labour and regulation



Anastasia Ufimtseva, Beedie School of Business, anastasia_ufimtseva@sfu.ca (fluent in Czech and Russian)

  • Global governance
  • Political economy of natural resources

  • Impact of sliding oil prices on the global and Canadian oil and gas sector

COMMUNICATION

Sarah Anne Ganter, communication, sganter@sfu.ca

  • Media governance and policy
  • Impact on content industries, media job and revenue losses



Peter Chow-White, communication, 604.603.3794, peter_chow-white@sfu.ca

  • Social media use during a crisis

Ahmed-Al Rawi, communication, aalrawi@sfu.ca

  • Social media, news, global communication, disinformation

CRIMINOLOGY

Rylan Simpson, criminology,  rylan_simpson@sfu.ca

  • Policing, police appearance and police effectiveness during COVID-19
  • How police balance virus exposure risk with providing services
  • Implications of police enforcement of governmental health orders

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS



Irene Pang, international studies, irene_pang@sfu.ca (fluent in Cantonese and Mandarin)


  • State and societal responses to COVID-19 in China and Hong Kong



MENTAL HEALTH & PSYCHOLOGY

Charlotte Waddell, health sciences, director of SFU’s Children’s Health Policy Centre, charlotte_waddell@sfu.ca

Grace Iarocci, psychology, grace_iarocci@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19’s impact on autism community
  • How autism community can cope with anxiety post COVID-19

Lara Aknin, psychology, laknin@sfu.ca


  • Prosocial behaviour, well-being, happiness and social relationships

Tanya Broesch, psychology, 604.369.0128, tanya_broesch@sfu.ca

  • How parents can talk to their kids about COVID-19
  • Social learning
  • Child development and culture

Andrew Feenberg, communication, feenberg@sfu.ca


  • Online communities and education



Yuthika Girme, psychology, ygirme@sfu.ca

  • Social support, social distancing, and relationships

Carman Neustaedter, School of Interactive Arts & Technology, 604.754.1191, carman@sfu.ca

  • Social distancing and staying connected

POLITICS

Andy Yan, The City Program, ayan@sfu.ca


  • Housing, rental market, government assistance announced for renters, urban planning and COVID-19's impact on cities

SENIORS

Gloria Gutman, gerontology, gutman@sfu.ca

  • Senior's housing, long-term care, health promotion
  • Age friendly hospitals and communities
  • Seniors and emergency preparedness

 Dan Levitt, gerontology, dlevitt@taborvillage.org

  •  Seniors care, assisted living, and long-term care
  •  Leadership and ageism

Andrew Sixsmith, gerontology, andrew_sixsmith@sfu.ca

  • Social isolation, technologies to connect people, technology policy and the digital divide



Andrew Wister, gerontology, wister@sfu.ca

  • Seniors vulnerability to viral diseases, such as COVID-19

Habib Chaudhury, gerontology, chaudhury@sfu.ca

  • Built environment and ageing, seniors housing
  • Long-term care, age-friendly community, dementia friendly community

About Simon Fraser University: 

As Canada’s engaged university, SFU works with communities, organizations and partners to create, share and embrace knowledge that improves life and generates real change. We deliver a world-class education with lifelong value that shapes change-makers, visionaries and problem-solvers. We connect research and innovation to entrepreneurship and industry to deliver sustainable, relevant solutions to today’s problems. With campuses in British Columbia’s three largest cities – Vancouver, Burnaby and Surrey – SFU has eight faculties that deliver 193 undergraduate degree programs and 127 graduate degree programs to more than 35,000 students. The university now boasts more than 160,000 alumni residing in 143 countries.