Access for People with Disabilities

Physical Access Advisory Committee

Mitchell Stoddard, PhD. R. Psych - Director, Centre for Students with Disabilities (Chair of Committee)
John Briggs - Facilities Management
Frances Dodd - Library Services
Laura Barnette- Environmental Health and Safety
James Atamanchuk - SFU Vancouver, Harbour Centre
Mike Spencer - Campus Security
Brenda Taylor - Director, Human Rights and Equity
TBD - Student representatives (2) and Alumni (1)


The mandate of the Physical Access Advisory Committee is to make Simon Fraser University a barrier-free university. This goal is accomplished through planning, prioritizing, and recommending projects and activities in support of access.


The Physical Access Advisory Committee reports to the President via the Director, Human Rights and Equity.


  • To serve as a resource to the University on issues related to physical access
  • To make recommendations regarding access standards to be followed by the University
  • To determine access upgrade requirements through reviews of physical access audits of the University
  • To develop short and long-term plans to address barriers to physical access, including establishing upgrade priorities on an annual basis
  • To assist in preparation of reports for government or other funding sources
  • To act as an advocacy group for access issues at Simon Fraser University


Some members of the committee serve by virtue of their positions at the University and others represent the constituencies of people with disabilities. The employee representative, the student representatives and the alumni representative are appointed for two year terms.

  • one representative from the Human Rights Office
  • one representative from the Centre for Students with Disabilities
  • one representative from Facilities Management
  • one representative from Environmental Health & Safety
  • one representative from Campus Security
  • one representative from Harbour Centre campus
  • two SFU students with disabilities
  • one SFU employee with a disability
  • one alumni with a disability

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are called by the chair, with a minimum of one meeting scheduled each academic term.


The Chair will be elected by the committee for a two-year term.

University Secretary

Burnaby Mountain Campus: Distinctive architecture is an outstanding feature of the Burnaby Mountain campus, an interconnected complex of buildings based on the original design concept of Arthur Erickson and Geoffrey Massey. The campus, a half-hour drive from downtown Vancouver, offers magnificent views of Burrard Inlet and the Lower Mainland.

Harbour Centre Campus: The downtown Vancouver campus opened in May 1989, in the historic Spencer Building at 515 West Hastings Street, and was financed largely by the private sector.

Surrey Campus: Located in a futuristic-looking tower known as the world's best business centre, SFU's third campus in Surrey has pioneered the first interactive arts and technology program of its kind in Canada.

President's Office