Chairs & Directors

Applied Sciences Director, Computing Science Mori, Greg 778-782-8826 May 1/15 -
Apr 30/18
mori@cs.sfu.ca
Applied Sciences Director, Engineering Science Chapman, Glenn
778-782-3119 Apr 1/16 - Apr 30/19
enscdir@sfu.ca
Applied Sciences Director, Mechatronics Systems Engineering Golnaraghi, Farid
778 782-8054 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/21
mfgolnar@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Asia Canada Program
Kawasaki, Tsuyoshi
778-782-9219 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 kawasaki@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Criminology MacAlister, David
778-782-4305 Sept 1/16 -
Aug 31/19
dmacalis@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Economics Krauth, Brian
778-782-3164 Sept 1/16 -
Aug 31/19
bkrauth@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Cognitive Science Program Blair, Mark (604) 562-4963
Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/18 mblair@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, English Budra, Paul
778-782-3121 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/17 englsec@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Explorations Lachlan, Alistair 778-782-2057   alistair@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, First Nations Studies Reder, Deanna
778 782-8192 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20 deanna_reder@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, French Guilbault, Christian
778 782-6783 Sept 1/17 -
Aug 31/20
frendir@sfu.ca  
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Gerontology Wister, Andrew
778-782-5044 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19
wister@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Graduate Liberal Studies (Acting) Duguid, Stephen
  Sept 1/17 - Dec 31/17 sduguid@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Hellenic Studies Gerolymatos, Andre 778-782-5597 Sept 1/13  - Aug 31/19 agerolym@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, History Spear, Jennifer
778-782-4450 Sept 1/15 -
Aug 31/18
jms25@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Humanities Crowe, Paul
778 782-4664 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20
pcrowe@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, School for Int'l Studies Moustafa, Tamir
778-782-8426 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20 tmoustafa@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Labour Studies Program Strauss, Kendra 778-782-9816 Jan 1/17 - Aug 31/19 kstrauss@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Linguistics Hedberg, Nancy
778-782-3554 Sept 1/15 -
Aug 31/18
lingchair@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Philosophy Tiffany, Evan
778 782-6647 Sept 1/17 -
Aug 31/20
chairphi@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Political Science Moens, Alexander
778-782-3729 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 alexander_moens@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Psychology Watson, Neil
778-782-3250 Sept 1/15 -
Aug 31/17
nwatson@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Sociology & Anthropology Lacombe, Dany
778 782-5478 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/22
lacombe@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Chair, Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies Campbell, Lara
778-782-5526 Sept 1/15 -
Aug 31/18
gswschr@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Public Policy (Acting) Maloney, Maureen
778 782-9066 Sept 1/17 - Dec 31/17
mmaloney@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, Urban Studies Hall, Peter
778-782-7887 Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/18 pvhall@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Director, World Literature Ortabasi, Melek
778-782-8846 Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/18
mos1@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Academic Director, MBA Simon, Jan 778-782-7710   jan_simon@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business Academic Director, Part Time MBA Brown, Tom 778 782-3574   tomb@sfu.ca
Beedie School  of Business
Executive Director, Executive Education
Henriksson, Kristina 778 782-5255   kristina_henriksson@sfu.ca
Beedie School  of Business
Academic Director, Management of Technology Johnson, Michael
778-782-5154   mjohn@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Academic Director, Graduate Diploma in Business Admin Brown, Tom 778 782-3574   tomb@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Academic Director, PhD Program Klein, Peter 778 782-7722   pklein@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Academic Director, Master of Science in Finance
Simon, Jan   778 782-7710   jan_simon@sfu.ca
Communication,
Art & Technology
Director, Communication Chow-White, Peter
778-782-3383 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 cmnsdir@sfu.ca
Communication,
Art & Technology
Director, Contemporary Arts Pratt, Elspeth
778-782-3766 Sept 1/13 - Aug 31/19 elspeth_pratt@sfu.ca
Communication,
Art & Technology
Director, Interactive Arts
& Technology
Schiphorst, Thecla
778-782-7418 Sept 1/15 -
Aug 31/18
thecla@sfu.ca
Communication, Art & Technology Director, Masters in Digital Media Smith,  Richard 778-782-8100 Mar 20/12 - Dec 31/16 smith@sfu.ca
Communication, Art & Technology Director, Masters in Publishing Maxwell, John
778-782-5287 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/17
jmax@sfu.ca
Education Director, Professional Programs Neufeld, Paul 778-782-4326 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/19 pneufeld@sfu.ca
Education Director, Graduate Programs MacKinnon, Allan
778 782-2562 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/18 allan_mackinnon@sfu.ca
Education Director, Undergraduate Programs
Gajdamaschko, Natalia
778 881-7920 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20 nataliag@sfu.ca
Environment Chair, Geography Brennand, Tracy
778-782-3718 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/20
tabrenna@sfu.ca
Environment Director, Resource &
Environmental Management
Cox, Sean
778-782-5778 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19
sean_cox@sfu.ca
Environment Chair, Archaeology Nicholas, George
778 782-5709 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20 nicholas@sfu.ca
Health Sciences Director, Graduate Programs Beischlag, Timothy
778-782-3071 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19
tvb@sfu.ca
Health Sciences Director, Public Health Practice Steinberg, Malcolm
778-782-8554 May 1/14 -
Apr 30/19
malcolm_steinberg@sfu.ca
Health Sciences Director, Undergraduate Programs Lechner, Mark
778-782-8733 Sept 1/14 -
Aug 31/18
mark_lechner@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning Director, Centre for Online & Distance Education Naicker, Brian 778-782-4756 Aug 3/10 - bnaicker@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning
Director, Leadership & Community Building Programs Besso, Shanthi
778-782-5201   shanthib@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning Director, Integrated Credit Studies and SFU NOW
McTavish, Rob
778-782-8856   mctavish@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning Director, Non-Credit Programs White, Larry 778-782-5220   lawhite@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Biological Sciences Elle, Elizabeth
778-782-4592 Sept 1/13 -
Aug 31/19
biscchr@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Biomedical Physiology
& Kinesiology
Brooks-Wilson, Angela
778-782-3889 May 1/16 - Apr 30/21 arw6@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Chemistry Sen, Dipankar
778-782-4884 May 1/17 - Apr 30/20
chemchr@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Earth Sciences Ward, Brent
778-782-4229 Sept 1/14 -
Aug 31/19
bcward@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Mathematics Kropinski, Mary Catherine 778 782-5683
May 1/17 - Apr 30/20 mkropins@math.sfu.ca
Science Chair, Molecular Biology &
Biochemistry
Hawkins, Nancy
778-782-3541 Jan 1/16 - Dec 31/18 nhawkins@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Physics Sonier, Jeff
778-782-4223 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/20
physchr@sfu.ca
Science Chair, Statistics & Actuarial Science Loughin, Tom
778-782-8037 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/19
tloughin@sfu.ca

SFU Views


Announcements

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The deadline for submissions is October 15thCheck here for more information on the nomination and adjudication process.

After a seven year, comprehensive and rigorous process, SFU is the first Canadian research university to be granted accreditation by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU).  

View the Report on course-based experiential education across all SFU Faculties

View the 2013-2018 Academic Plan

View the Revised Report on Learning Outcomes and Assessment