Deans & Associate Deans

Faculty/Unit Title Name Telephone Number Term Email
Applied Sciences Dean
Fiume, Eugene 778-782-6775 
Jan 1/17 - Aug 31/22 efiume@sfu.ca
Applied Sciences Associate Dean Beg, Faisal 778-782-5696 Aug 1/15 - Aug 31/18 mfbeg@sfu.ca
Applied Sciences Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies Oldknow, Kevin 778-782-9254 Jan 1/17 - Dec 31/19 koldknow@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Dean
Pulkingham, Jane 778-782-4415 Jan 1/16 - Aug 31/21 pulkingh@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Associate Dean Gordon, Robert 778-782-9739 Sept 1/13 - Aug 31/19 robert_gordon@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Associate Dean, Academic
Programs & Student Issues
Murray, Catherine
778-782-4416 Jan 1/16 - Aug 31/18 catherine_murray@sfu.ca
Arts & Social Sciences Associate Dean Shapiro, Lisa 778-782-9025 Jan 1/15 - Dec 31/18 lisa_shapiro@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Dean
Dastmalchian, Ali
778-782-7664 Jan 1/16 - Dec 31/20 bizdean@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Associate Dean, Faculty
Development
Lautsch, Brenda
778 782-6620 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 blautsch@sfu.ca
Beedie School of Business
Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Gemino, Andrew
778-782-3653 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/19 gemino@sfu.ca  
Beedie School of Business
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs
Tingling, Peter
778  782-3473 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/20 tingling@sfu.ca
Communication, Art & Technology Dean Mac Namara, Aoife 778-782-9933 Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/20 amacnama@sfu.ca
Communication, Art & Technology Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies Poyntz, Stuart
778-782-7293 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 spoyntz@sfu.ca
Communication, Art & Technology Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Druick, Zoe 778-782-5398 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/17 druick@sfu.ca
Education Dean Magnusson, Kris 778-782-3148 Aug 1/09 - Aug 31/19 kris_magnusson@sfu.ca
Education Associate Dean, Academic and Research O'Neill, Susan
778 782-3001 Jan 1/17 - Dec 31/19 sao@sfu.ca
Education Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Liljedahl, Peter
  Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/18 liljedahl@sfu.ca  
Environment Dean Stefanovic, Ingrid
778-782-8797 Sept 1/14 - Aug 31/19
fenvdean@sfu.ca
Environment Associate Dean. Graduate and Research
Yang, Dongya
778-782-9606 Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19 donyang@sfu.ca
Environment Associate Dean, Undergraduate Clapp, Alex 778-782-8827 Sept 1/12 - Aug 31/18 aclapp@sfu.ca
Graduate Studies Dean Pro Tem Derksen, Jeff
778 782-4255 Sept 1/17 - Apr 30/18 jeff_derksen@sfu.ca
Graduate Studies Associate Dean, Students Derksen, Jeff
778 782-4255  Sept 1/16 - Aug 31/19
jeff_derksen@sfu.ca
Graduate Studies Associate Dean, Academics Park, Ed
778 782-9079 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/18 ed_park@sfu.ca
Health Sciences Dean Bubela, Tania
778-782-5361 Sept 1/17 - Aug 31/22    fhsdean@sfu.ca  
Health Sciences Associate Dean, Research Programs Takaro, Tim
778 782-9981
Jan 1/17 - Dec 31/19 ttakaro@sfu.ca
Health Sciences Associate Dean, Education Smith, Stephen 778-782-3259 Sept 1/15 - Aug 31/18 stephen_smith@sfu.ca
Library Services Dean
Bird, Gwen
778-782-3265 Oct 1/14 - Sept 31/19
gbird@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning Dean pro tem Smith, Judy
778-782-5147 July 1/17 - June 30/18 judy_smith@sfu.ca
Lifelong Learning Associate Dean vacant
     
Science Dean Cupples, Claire 778-782-3771 Aug 1/10 - Aug 31/2020 scdean@sfu.ca
Science Associate Dean, Academic Lowenberger, Carl
778-782-9462 Jan 1/15 - Dec 31/17 sciadean@sfu.ca
Science Associate Dean, Research & Advancement Ruben, Peter 778-782-9351 Jan 1/15 - Dec 31/17
pruben@sfu.ca

SFU Views


Announcements

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The deadline for submissions is October 15thCheck here for more information on the nomination and adjudication process.

After a seven year, comprehensive and rigorous process, SFU is the first Canadian research university to be granted accreditation by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU).  

View the Report on course-based experiential education across all SFU Faculties

View the 2013-2018 Academic Plan

View the Revised Report on Learning Outcomes and Assessment