Scholarships and Awards

The Caledonia Awards in World Literature

Three awards, valued at $2,000 each, will be granted in the Fall term to undergraduate students who meet the following criteria:

  • is enrolled full-time with a formal declaration in either the honours, major, joint major, extended minor, or minor in the World Literature program;
  • is in good academic standing;
  • is engaged in community/volunteer service; and
  • demonstrates a commitment to the study of world literature in response to an announced essay question.
  • A student may receive the award only once in their first/second year of study and once in their third/fourth year of study. The World Literature Program may adjust the ratio of awards between junior and senior students either to reflect actual enrolment proportions or to address the quality of applications from junior and senior levels.

**Application Deadline for Fall Disbursement - Oct 15th, 2017**
Applications must include: 

  • a current, unofficial SFU transcript; 
  • a resume including the applicant's community/volunteer service activities;
  • a letter of reference from someone who can speak to the student's current and potential contribution as a citizen; and
  • a short essay (500-750 words) on the topic of World Literature and Social Engagement

Please send the application with all documents in PDF format to the advisor, Katie Nordgren, via email at with "Caledonia Application" in the subject line. Please have your referee send your reference letter directly to that address. If you would prefer to send the application in hardcopy, please email for instructions.

The award will be granted by the Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee upon the recommendation of the Director, World Literature Program.


Previous Awardees: Spring 2017, Fall 2016, Spring 2016, & Fall 2015


Mahatma Gandhi Student Award

Up to $1,500 awarded in Fall
The Mahatma Gandhi Annual Student Award was established at Simon Fraser University in 2007 through the generous contributions of the Institute for the Humanities at SFU, the Thakore Endowment, and the India Club. The purpose of this award is to recognize and honour those SFU students who, in the spirit of Gandhi’s work, have been active in voluntary community service in areas related to peace, justice and human rights.

The Mahatma Gandhi Annual Student Award, valued at up to $1,500, will be granted annually to a current or newly admitted full-time SFU student in good academic standing on the basis of demonstrated community service and leadership.

Voluntary service may include any voluntary service which contributes toward the betterment of the human condition: health related and caring services, literacy and training programs, peer group assistance, work with peace organizations, social justice initiatives, community building services, anti-violence programs, anti-poverty programs, and local, national and international programs that address issues related to peace, justice, and human rights.

Applications packages must include:

    1. a one page description of the student’s volunteer work which includes why you chose volunteer work in the area of your choice, your experience as a volunteer, and, lastly, speaks to the question of how effective you feel your volunteer work was.
    2. include at least one letter of reference from a person in the organization or group with which you volunteered.
    3. a resume which includes all of your paid and volunteer work to date.

Complete application packages must be received no later than September 14, 2016 . Recipients will be recognized at the Gandhi Jayanti each year.

The recipient of the award will be made by the Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee based upon the nomination of the Institute of Humanities Gandhi committee.


    * New and current SFU undergraduate students
    * Deadline for all entries is September 14, 2016 .

Entries are to be sent to the Institute for the Humanities, #3150, SFU Harbour Centre, 515 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, B.C., V6B 5K3 .

For more information about the history of this award and past recipients, please visit:

Other Awards/Scholarships