Chemistry Graduate Association at Simon Fraser University

September 23rd, 2015 Meeting Minutes

Shrum Science Centre C9034

In attendance

John Thompson (President), Ryan Clarke (Vice-President), Kathleen Prosser (Treasurer), Heather Wiebe (Social Coordinator), Fatima Garcia (GSS Representative), Ania Sergeenko (GSS Alternate), Kailey Wright (TSSU Rep), Tasleem Muzaffar (TSSU Rep), Matt Alteen (DGSC Rep), David Ester (Sports Coordinator), Adam Barlev (TSSU Rep), Rhea Bains (TSSU Rep), Yumeela Ganga-Sah (TSSU Rep)

Regrets

Stephanie Chang (Secretary), Motahareh Safiollah (TSSU Rep), Shaima Kammoonah (TSSU Rep), Matthew Brown (Graduate Informationa Coordinator)

Guests

Iris Guo, Jessica Miller, Matt Deen, Marco Farren-Dai

1. Call to Order

- Meeting was called to order at 11:40 AM in Shrum Science Centre C9034.

2. Appointment of the Chair

- **MOVED** to appoint **John Thompson** as Chair for this meeting.

Moved by: Kathleen Prosser Seconded by: Fatima Garcia

MOTION CARRIED

- John Thompson (President) was appointed Chair for this meeting.

3. Appointment of the Secretary

- MOVED to appoint Fatima Garcia (GSS Rep) as Secretary for this meeting.

Moved by: Kailey Wright Seconded by: Ryan Clarke

MOTION CARRIED

- Fatima Garcia (GSS Rep) was appointed Secretary for this meeting.

4. Discusion of Caucus Position and Nominations

- All executive members present gave a short description of their current positions and answered questions

5. Caucus Elections

MOVED to approve Kathleen Prosser as the acclaimed President for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Ryan Clarke Seconded by: Fatima Garcia Abstentions: Kathleen Prosser MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **MOVED** to a vote on the position of Vice President, with the following candidates:
 - Jessica Miller
 - Declan McKearney
 - Bryton Varju

Moved by: Kathleen Prosser

Seconded by: Ania Sergeenko

• MOVED to elect Jessica Miller as the Vice-President for the Chemistry Graduate Association

for the 2015-2016 academic term Moved by: Tasleem Muzaffar Seconded by: Heather Wiebe Abstentions: Jessica Miller

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- MOVED to a vote on the position of Treasurer, with the following candidates:
 - Rhea Bains
 - Declan McKearney Moved by: Fatima Garcia Seconded by: Ryan Clarke

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

MOVED to elect Rhea Bains as the Treasurer for the Cheimstry Graduate Association for the

2015-2016 academic term Moved by: Matt Alteen Seconded by: David Ester Abstentions: Rhea Bains

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

 MOVED to approve Kailey Wright as the acclaimed Secretary for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Rhea Bains Seconded by: Fatima Garcia Abstentions: Kailey Wright

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

 MOVED to approve David Ester as an acclaimed Social Coordinator for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Jessica Miller Seconded by: Iris Guo Abstentions: David Ester

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

 MOVED to approve Bryton Varju as an acclaimed Social Coordinator for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Kathleen Prosser Seconded by: John Thompson **MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY**

 MOVED to approve Matt Alteen the acclaimed Department of Graduate Studies Committee Representative for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Jessica Miller Seconded by: Iris Guo Abstentions: Matt Alteen

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• MOVED to approve Matt Deen as an acclaimed Department of Graduate Studies Committee Representative for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term. Moved by: Rhea Bains

Seconded by: Ania Sergeenko Abstentions: Matt Deen

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Fatima Garcia as the acclaimed Graduate Student Society Representative for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Kathleen Prosser Seconded by: Adam Barlev Abstentions: Fatima Garcia

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• MOVED to approve Iris Guo as the acclaimed Graduate Student Society Alternate

Representative for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Fatima Garcia

Seconded by: Tasleem Muzaffar

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Yumeela Ganga-Sah as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Matt Deen Seconded by: Bryton Varju

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Kailey Wright as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Ania Sergeenko Seconded by: Fatima Garcia Abstentions: Kailey Wright

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Ania Sergeenko as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Ryan Clarke

Seconded by: Kathleen Prosser Abstentions: Ania Sergeenko

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

 MOVED to approve Heather Baroody as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Heather Wiebe Seconded by: David Ester

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Tasleem Muzaffar as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Fatima Garcia
Seconded by: Jessica Miller
Abstentions: Tasleem Muzaffar
MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Adam Barlev as an acclaimed TSSU Steward for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Ania Sergeenko

Seconded by: Yumeela Ganga-Sah Abstentions: Adam Barlev

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Declan McKearney as an acclaimed Sports Coordinator for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Matt Alteen
Seconded by: John Thompson
MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Marco Farren-Dai as an acclaimed Sports Coordinator for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Rhea Bains
Seconded by: Kailey Wright
Abstentions: Marco Farren-Dai
MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

• **MOVED** to approve Tasleem Muzaffar as the acclaimed Graduate Information Coordinator for the Chemistry Graduate Association for the 2015-2016 academic term.

Moved by: Jessica Miller Seconded by: Ryan Clarke Abstentions: Tasleem Muzaffar MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. Caucus Elections Results

Position	Name	Email
President	Kathleen Prosser	kprosser@sfu.ca
Vice President	Jessica Miller	jjmiller@sfu.ca
Treasurer	Rhea Bains	rheab@sfu.ca
Secretary	Kailey Wright	Kailey_wright@sfu.ca
GSS Councilor	Fatima Garcia	fatima_garcia@sfu.ca
GSS Councilor Alternate	Iris Guo	iris_guo@sfu.ca
DGSC Representative	Matt Alteen	malteen@sfu.ca
	Matt Deen	matthew_deen@sfu.ca
TSSU Stewards	Adam Barlev	adam_barlev@sfu.ca
	Yumeela Ganga-sah	yumeela_ganga-sah@sfu.ca
	Kailey Wright	kailey_wright@sfu.ca
	Tasleem Muzaffar	tmuzaffa@sfu.ca
	Ania Sergeenko	ania tersakian@sfu.ca
	Heather Baroody	hbaroody@sfu.ca
Social Coordinator	David Ester	david ester@sfu.ca
	Bryton Varju	bryton_varju@sfu.ca
Sports Representative	Declan McKearney	declan mckearney@sfu.ca
	Marco Farren-Dai	mfarrend@sfu.ca
Graduate Information	Tasleem Muzaffar	tmuzaffa@sfu.ca
Coordinator		

7. Adjournment

 MOVED to conclude the meeting. Moved by: John Thompson Seconded by: Fatima Garcia

MOTION CARRIED

Meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm.