[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

MSFHR Newsletter: Launch dates for Fall 2016 funding programs announced

The Office of Research Services has received the following information which we are forwarding to our e-mail list members:


July 2016


Launch dates for Fall 2016 funding programs announced

After three months of criss-crossing BC, MSFHR’s Research Programs team has completed initial consultations on the Foundation’s new suite of funding programs.

We are in the process of reviewing all feedback and will share a summary of major consultation themes in the coming weeks.

In recognition of the community's strong interest in competition timelines, we are pleased to share a provisional calendar for the funding programs anticipated to launch in 2016.


Lori Brotto (2004 Scholar) has been appointed the new executive director of the Women’s Health Research Institute, BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre.


Nadine Caron (MSFHR board member) is the recipient of the 2016 Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. This award recognizes her role as an inspirational mentor to Indigenous women and girls, as well as her work to co-create the UBC Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health.


James Frankish (2002 Scholar) has received the 2016 UBC Faculty Community Service Award in recognition of his involvement in promoting the health of people, particularly vulnerable populations, in BC, and his leadership in developing the field of health promotion in Canada.


Blake Gilks (2007 Research Unit Award) has been awarded the Scientific Achievement Award from Vancouver Coastal Health in recognition of his groundbreaking discoveries in ovarian cancer.


Michael Klein (2006 Operating Grant) has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his pioneering work integrating family medicine and maternity care in Canada.


Bruce Verchere (2006 Scholar) is the recipient of the 2016 Geoffrey L. Hammond Lectureship in recognition of his impact on improving the health and well-being of children and/or families, as well as serving as a role model and mentor to junior researchers, trainees and students over the last 10 years.


Lakshmi Yatham (2001 Scholar) has been awarded the 2016 Heinz Lehmann Award for his outstanding contributions to the field of neuropsychopharmacology.


Follow Us