From genomics to criminology, from physics to healthcare, Simon Fraser University seeks to spark new collaborations that combine big questions and big ideas with data-intensive discovery.

SFU is building on a decade of leadership in the field of big data, investing in advanced research computing to accelerate scholarship and innovation by bringing new data tools and resources to all members of our campus community. We are investing in the growth of data-intensive research across all eight Faculties to raise awareness of big data in every field of study and mobilize knowledge for real world impact. Our academic programs and strategic partnerships harness the power of big data to contribute to a competitive economy and the development of skills and expertise in our work force.

100
hours of video are uploaded to YouTube every minute
570
new websites are created every minute
80%
of the world’s data is now unstructured
90%
of the world's data was created in the past 2 years

Big Data Academic Advisory Committee

Dugan O'Neil

Associate Vice-President, Research
(Committee Co-Chair)

Professor, Physics

avpr@sfu.ca

Peter Chow-White

Associate Professor and Director, Communication
(Committee Co-Chair)

petercw@sfu.ca

Fred Popowich

Scientific Director, SFU's Big Data Initiative

Professor, Computing Science

bdidir@sfu.ca

Mark Roman

Chief Information Officer

mproman@sfu.ca

Martin Andresen

Professor, Criminology

RCMP University Chair in Computational Criminology

Director, ICURS Institute

andresen@sfu.ca

Derek Bingham

Associate Professor, Statistics and Actuarial Science

dbingham@sfu.ca

Colette Colligan

Professor, English

Co-Director, Digital Humanities Innovation Lab

ccolliga@sfu.ca

Uwe Glässer

Professor, Computing Science

glaesser@cs.sfu.ca

Jie Mein Goh

Assistant Professor, Beedie School of Business

jmgoh@sfu.ca

Carman Neustaedter

Associate Professor and Director, School of Interactive Arts and Technology

carman@sfu.ca

Edward Park

Associate Dean, Academic, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

defence@sfu.ca

Jiannan Wang

Assistant Professor, Computing Science

jnwang@sfu.ca

Phil Winne

Professor, Education

winne@sfu.ca

Hui Xie

Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

hui_xie@sfu.ca

Contact Us

Connect with us to learn how we can help you unlock the potential of big data.

Address:
Big Data at SFU
Applied Science Building, Room 10905
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive 
Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6 

Email: sfu_bigdata@sfu.ca

Phone: 778.782.7064

Sign up to learn more about big data at SFU

Sign up