BPK Research Day 2019 Recap & Gallery

April 12, 2019


The 10th Annual BPK Research Day was held on Friday, April 5th, 2019 in the Leslie and Gordon Diamond Family Auditorium.  The event showcased the excellent and diverse research being conducted by our graduate and undergraduate student researchers, and it attracted over 175 attendees, representing SFU students, staff, faculty, and alumni.

The day began with outstanding oral presentations by four PhD students: Amanda Bakkum (Marigold Lab), David Ryan (Wakeling Lab), Kaveh Rayani (Tibbits Lab), and Matthew Dorton (V. Claydon Lab). Their presentations were followed by an engaging and insightful keynote address on the philosophy of science, “Using Mechanisms and Causation”, from Dr. Holly Andersen, an Associate Professor in Philosophy at SFU.

Following Dr. Andersen’s keynote address, seven students competed in an exciting three-minute thesis competition. Congratulations to MSc student Natalie Heeney (V. Claydon Lab) for winning first place, as voted by the audience.

After lunch, two back-to-back poster sessions showcased 46 poster presentations from 24 BSc, 9 MSc, 13 PhD students. Fourteen judges (faculty members and post-doctoral fellows) donated their time to evaluate the posters: Anne-Kristina Arnold, Dave Clarke, Victoria Claydon, Dylan Cooke, Fabio Feldman, Andy Hoffer, Vicki Komisar, Charles Krieger, Dan Marigold, Dawn Mackey, Damon Poburko, Leanne Ramer, Steve Robinovitch, and Michael Walsh.

Congratulations to Chiara Piccolo (Marigold Lab) for winning the best BSc student poster presentation; Olivia Aguiar (Robinovitch Lab) for the best MSc student poster presentation, and Javier Domínguez-Zamora (Marigold Lab) for the best PhD student poster presentation. , congratulations to Carly Johnston (V. Claydon Lab) for winning the APS Local Undergraduate Research Award in Physiology (LURAP) for her poster presentation. 

Lastly, the Trainee Image Contest returned this year with 9 creative submissions. Congratulations to the Locomotion Lab (PI: Donelan) for winning best image for the second year in a row!

To make Research Day possible, the BPK Department, SFU Graduate Student Society, BPK Student Association, and BPK Graduate Student Association generously donated funds. Local companies also showed their support by donating door prizes that were raffled off throughout the day. Thank you to A&W, Azzi Hair Studio, The Chopped Leaf, Cornerstone Printing, Iron Dog Books, Menchies, Nature’s Garden, Nester’s Market, Pizza Hut, Quesada, Renaissance Coffee, and the SFU Bookstore.

Research Day was organized by the following committee members: Vera Ellen Lucci (Graduate Chair), Dawn Mackey (Faculty Chair), Olivia Aguiar, Amanda Bakkum, Javier Dominguez-Zamora, Matthew Dorton, Natalie Heeney, Brooke Hockin, Evan Hutcheon, Nicole Whittle, and Erin Williams. BPK Department staff Maisie Morsara, Zhanna Yelyubayeva, and Nicole Yoo helped with event organization, photography, and communications. King Hang Chao assisted with event A/V and photography.


Three-Minute Thesis competition

1st Place:       Natalie Heeney


Poster Competition

Best BSc:        Chiara Piccolo
Best MSc:       Olivia Aguiar
Best PhD:       Javier Domínguez-Zamora
APS LURAP:   Carly Johnston

Image Contest

1st Place: Locomotion Lab