Affiliated Faculty

Ahmed Al-Rawi

Assistant Professor, Simon Fraser University School of Communication

aalrawi@sfu.ca

Zafar Adeel

Professor of Professional Practice, School of Sustainable Energy Engineering


zafar_adeel@sfu.ca

Robert Anderson

Professor, Communication

International development and communication; South Asia, Indonesia.
robert_anderson@sfu.ca

Daniel Ahadi

Lecturer, School of Communication

Development of self and identity within the context of media, migration, globalization, and formation of transnational diasporas.

daniel_ahadi@sfu.ca

Yildiz Atasoy

Professor, Sociology

Development studies; gender relations; Islamic politics; Turkey, Middle East.
yatasoy@sfu.ca

Lennart Berggren

Professor Emeritus, Mathematics

History of mathematical sciences in ancient Greece and medieval Islam.
berggen@sfu.ca

Hugo Cardoso

Assistant Professor, Department of Archaeology

Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology; child health in medieval Portugal; the bioarchaeology of Muslim Portugal.
hcardoso@sfu.ca

Luke Clossey

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCMS

Comparative world history of religions; early modern China, Mexico, Mughals.
clossey@sfu.ca

Catherine D'Andrea

Professor, Faculty of Environment

Early agricultural peoples and the rise of complex societies in the Horn of Africa.

adandrea@sfu.ca

 

Parin Dossa

Professor, Anthropology

Migration, gender and health; Muslim women; Iranians in the diaspora.
pdossa@sfu.ca

Aude-Claire Fourot

Assistant Professor, Political Science

Immigration and integration; multiculturalism; Islam in Europe and Canada; religion and public sphere; urban policy.
afourot@sfu.ca

Adel Iskandar

Assistant Professor of Global Communication; Advisory Board Member of CCMS.

Social media, communications, modern Middle East, post colonialism.
adel_iskandar@sfu.ca

Thomas Kuehn

Associate Professor, History

Social and cultural history of the Ottoman empire and Turkey.
thomas_kuehn@sfu.ca

Sonja Luehrmann

Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Anthropology of religion; Russia/Soviet Union; atheism and secularism: Orthodox Christianity; Muslim populations; interreligious relations.
luehrmann@sfu.ca

Derryl MacLean

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCMS

History of religion; Islamics; early modern South and Central Asia; Islam in the West.
maclean@sfu.ca

Laura Marks

Dena Wosk Professor in Art and Culture Studies

Cinema in the Arab world; Islamic genealogy of new media art.
lmarks@sfu.ca

Tamir Moustafa

Professor and Stephen Jarislowsky Chair, School for International Studies

Law and society; religion and politics; politics of the Middle East.
tmoustafa@sfu.ca

Guldana Salimjan

Ruth Wynn Woodward Junior Chair

Ethnicity, nationalism, gender, place, memory, and belonging in Chinese Central Asia.

salimjan_guldana@sfu.ca

Paul Sedra

Associate Professor, History; Advisory Board Member of CCMS

Modern Middle East; education and the rise of the modern state; Egyptian cinema.
pdsedra@sfu.ca

Ken Seigneurie

Professor, Program in World Literature

Modern Arabic, French and British fiction, literary theory and the history of humanist thought.
kseigneu@sfu.ca

Ozlem Sensoy

Associate Professor, Education

Constructions of Muslims in North America through education and media.
ozlem_sensoy@sfu.ca

Tammara Soma

Assistant Professor, School of Resource and Environmental Management

food system planning, community-based research, waste management and the circular economy.

tammara_soma@sfu.ca

Azadeh Yamini-Hamedani

Assistant Professor, Comparative World Literature; Advisory Board Member of CCMS

Interconnections of literature and philosophy, emphasis on the semiotics of translation.
azadeh_yamini-hamedani@sfu.ca

Eric Werker

William Saywell Professor, Beedie School of Business

How countries can build more thriving and inclusive private sectors and how external actors influence economic and political outcomes.

ewerker@sfu.ca

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Gender, Sexualituy and Women's Studies

Women and development; globalization and women's work; Bangladesh.
hzaman@sfu.ca