The Centre for Natural Hazard Research is a Schedule A Centre governed in accordance with University policies (R.40.01, CENTRES AND INSTITUTES) and comes under the direct authority of the Dean of Science.

CNHR is governed by a Steering Committee made up of five Simon Fraser University faculty members and up to three representatives from the community. The Steering Committee includes the Director and Manager of CNHR. Members are appointed by recommendation to the Dean of Science by the Director. Appointments are for a three-year term.

  • The Director of CNHR is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Governing Committee for Centres and Institutes, which in turn acts on the recommendation of the Dean of Science and the advice of the Centre Steering Committee. Term of office shall normally be for three years.

  • The Steering Committee shall be chaired by the Director of the Centre. Meetings shall normally take place at least twice a year.