Awards And Honors


By Faculty


The School of Computing Science has a distinguished faculty complement. Their work has been recognized by numerous awards from many academic and industrial organizations over a long period of time. 

You can explore some of these awards by clicking on one of the tabs on the right. 

Leonid Chindelevitch 


  • Received the prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences Research Excellence Award at SFU, 2016 

Diana Cukierman


  • Academic Enhancement Program (AEP) Healthy Campus Community Champion, 2015

Rob Cameron


  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2015

James Delgrande


  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement, 2018 -2021


Eugene Fiume


  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2014
  • Canadian Human Computer Communications Society Achievement Award, 2014
  • Eurographics Fellow, 2014
  • NSERC Synergy Award, 2012

Yasutaka Furukawa 

  • CS-CAN: Outstanding Young CS Researcher Award, 2018       
  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements (DAS)
  • Department of National Defence (DND)/NSERC Discovery Grant Supplement    
  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2016-2018
  • Azure Faculty Research Award, 2016   
  • NSF Career Award, 2015         

Mohamed Hefeeda 


  • Best Associate Editor, ACM Transactions on Multimedia on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications (TOMM), 2014     
  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement, 2011

Pavol Hell


  • Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Fellow, 2012

Valentine Kabanets 


  • The Nerode Prize, 2013


Maxwell Libbrecht  


  • Genome Training Grant, 2012-2014   
  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship honorable mention, 2013 

Angelica Lim


  • Rajan Family Scholar in Computing Science

Jiangchuan Liu


  • Institute of electrical and electronics engineers from Canada (IEEE) Fellow, 2017           
  • NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship, 2015         


Greg Mori


  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement, 2016-2019

Jian Pei  


  • ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award, 2017
  • ACM Fellow, 2015
  • ACM SIGKDD Service Award, 2015
  • IEEE ICDM Research Contributions Award, 2014
  • IEEE Fellow, 2014
  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2013

Fred Popowich 


  • Recipient of the Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Artificial Intelligence Association (CAIAC), 2017

Anoop Sarkar


  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplemment, 2018
  • NSERC Department of National Defence, 2018
  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2014

Oliver Schulte


  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements (DAS), 2018
  • NSERC Discovery award, 2013

Ping Tan


  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award, 2014


Jiannan Wang


  • IEEE TCDE Rising Star Award, 2018        
  • ACM SIGMOD Best Demonstration Award, 2016              
  • China Computer Federation (CCF) Distinguished Dissertation Award, 2013 
  • Google Ph.D Fellowship         

Ke Wang


  • The recipient of Faculty of Applied Sciences Research Excellence Awards (senior faculty), Simon Fraser University, 2013

Richard Zhang


  • SFU Dean of Graduate Studies Awards for Excellence in Leadership, 2016
  • National Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Overseas, Hongkong, and Macau Scholar Collaborative Research Award, 2015
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences Research Excellence Award at SFU, 2014    
  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award, 2014