Simon Fraser University

SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE Annual Report for 2003/04

Senate Library Committee Meetings

The Senate Library Committee met 3 times during the 2003/04 fiscal year. Meeting highlights include:

- Reviewed and confirmed the meeting structure of two meetings per semester as needed.
- Reviewed and approved the Library External Review Schedule, Terms of Reference and Guidelines.
- Reviewed and supported the proposed changes to the SFU Library Loan policy which increases online renewals to two and allows for unlimited renewals in person. The change is to take effect July 1, 2004.
- Reviewed and supported increasing the fee for regular external borrowers to \$100 for the year or \$35 per semester. The change is to take effect May 1, 2004.
- Recommended that serials usage data collection be collected in fall of 2003 and spring of 2004 and added to previous samples. The data is available from the Library's website.

Senate Library Committee Membership, 2003/04

Ex-Officio Members

Bruce Clayman, Chair, Vice-President, Research John Waterhouse, Vice-President, Academic Janice Bearg, Dean of Continuing Studies designate Jon Driver, Dean of Graduate Studies Lynn Copeland, University Librarian Todd Mundle, Associate University Librarian (non-voting)

Elected Members

Jennifer Chang (Faculty Member – Business Administration) Gordon Coleman (Librarian) Luis Duran (Library Staff) Nancy Earle (Graduate Student Alternate) Carole Gerson (Faculty Member - Arts)

> Senate Library Committee Annual Report 2003-04 Page 1

Norbert Haunerland (Senator at Large) Pat Howard (Faculty Member- Applied Sciences) Reza Pourvali (Undergraduate Student Alternate) Lynne Quarmby (Faculty Member - Science) Sara Rozell (Senator at Large) Camilla Sears (Graduate Student) Trevor Tombe (Undergraduate Student) Jan van Aalst (Faculty Member - Education)

Library Penalties Appeal Committee Report 2003/2004

The Library Penalties Appeal Committee met once during the 2003/2004 fiscal year to consider patron fine appeals.

At the November 6, 2003 meeting, the Committee members present included the following:

	Norbert Haunerland, Senator, Chair
	Sara Rozell, Senator
	Camilla Sears, Graduate Student Representative
	Trevor Tombe, Undergraduate Student Representative
Also in attendance:	Nancy Earle, Alternate Graduate Student Representative
	Laurine Harrison, Ombudsperson
	Thyra Mulder, Public Service Group Leader
	Gisele Pomerleau, Head, Loans Division
	Sherrie Sutcliffe, Supervisor, Loans Division

Five appeal cases were heard and all cases resulted in patrons being found responsible for all use made of their library card.

F BPC