## **Simon Fraser University**

# SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE Annual Report for 2004/05

### **Senate Library Committee Meetings**

The Senate Library Committee met 4 times during the 2004/05 fiscal year. Meeting highlights include:

- Reviewed and supported the Library External Review and the Library's Response to the Review.
- Reviewed and supported the proposed change to the SFU Library policy which allows for a limited tolerance (under \$5) of library fines before library privileges are suspended.
- Reviewed and supported the Library Collections budget for 2004/05.
- Reviewed and supported the direction of the Library's Three Year Plan and Schedule for 2004-2007.
- Endorsed the pamphlet "Stewardship of Scholarly Resources in a Digital World" to be distributed to SFU faculty, staff and students.

## Senate Library Committee Membership, 2004/05

#### **Ex-Officio Members**

Mario Pinto, Chair, Vice-President, Research Bruce Clayman, Chair, Vice-President, Research (to August 31, 2004) John Waterhouse, Vice-President, Academic Janice Bearg, Dean of Continuing Studies designate Jon Driver, Dean of Graduate Studies Lynn Copeland, University Librarian Todd Mundle, Associate University Librarian (non-voting)

#### **Elected Members**

Jennifer Chang (Faculty Member – Business Administration)
Gordon Coleman (Librarian)
Carole Gerson (Faculty Member - Arts)
Norbert Haunerland (Senator at Large)
Michael Hayes (Faculty Member- Health
Sciences)
Pat Howard (Faculty Member- Applied
Sciences)

Marcia McInnes (Undergraduate Student Alternate) Rob McTavish (Graduate Student Alternate) Lynne Quarmby (Faculty Member - Science) Sara Rozell (Senator at Large) Daniel Say (Library Staff) Camilla Sears (Graduate Student) Trevor Tombe (Undergraduate Student) Jan van Aalst (Faculty Member - Education)

## **Library Penalties Appeal Committee Report 2004/2005**

The Library Penalties Appeal Committee met once during the 2004/2005 fiscal year to consider patron fine appeals.

At the November 4, 2004 meeting, the Committee members present included the following:

Norbert Haunerland, Senator, Chair Sara Rozell, Senator Rob McTavish, Acting Graduate Student Representative

Also in attendance:

Gisele Pomerleau, Head, Loans Division Sherrie Sutcliffe, Supervisor, Loans Division Laurine Harrison, Ombudsperson

#### One appeal case was heard as outlined below:

Category of Borrower	Type of Fine	Amount of Fine	Decision
Alumnus	3 replacement charges and overdue fines	\$260.50	Appeal Withdrawn - \$37.50 in late fees waived due to mitigating circumstances.

B. Mario Pinto Chair, SLC

Vice-President, Research