India Advisory Council

As the first of its kind in western Canada, the India Advisory Council (IAC) was established by Simon Fraser University in 2006. Comprised of academic, business, government and community leaders, it advises, guides and supports the university’s academic, research and community engagement initiatives with India and the local South Asian diaspora.

Key areas of focus include:

  • Supporting programs and partnerships that advance the educational and cultural needs and interests of the South Asian community;
  • Developing new and existing collaborations with local, national and Indian institutions, industry and government agencies;
  • Promoting SFU as a destination for post-secondary education and furthering student mobility opportunities for SFU students in India; and
  • Fundraising to support and grow SFU’s India initiatives.


SFU President and Vice-Chancellor Joy Johnson

Sirish Rao

Honorary Members

Mr. Manish, Consul General of India

William Hoyle

Randall Martin

Harbs Bains

SFU Members

Joanne Curry

Nav Chima

Shaheen Nanji

Sobhana Jaya-Madhavan

Erin Morantz

Salima Jethani

Council Members

Arvinder Bubber

Arun Garg

Robin Dhir

Sarup Mann

Haroon Rashid

Anita Huberman

Hema Bhatt

Vivek Savkur

Wally Oppal

Joy Johnson

Jas Sandhu

Randy Sandhu

Hari Varshney

Sukesh Kumar

Sirish Rao

Dave Hayer

Karen Suri