Professional Development Credits

Canadian Certified Administrative Professional (CCAP)

The Association of Administrative Professionals (AAP) is a chartered, non-profit, Canadian association. We strive to provide administrative professionals the opportunity to learn, grow, and thrive by encouraging all members to add to their individual competencies, advance their leadership skills, realize their value in the workplace and community and have confidence to excel in their careers.

The AAP offers the Canadian Certified Administrative Professional (CCAP) certificate and designation. The CCAP program is a certificate program for administrative professionals. In order to achieve the CCAP designation, candidates must meet all of the following requirements:

  1. Be an AAP member for at least one year.
  2. Enroll in the CCAP program.
  3. Provide verification that you possess a minimum of two years’ work experience in an administrative role
  4. Provide verification that you also possess a good balance of the AAP core competencies, which are in the areas of business management, technology, leadership/organizational skills and communication/interpersonal skills.
  5. Complete seven courses at accredited universities and colleges across Canada, consisting of three compulsory courses and four elective courses.

Members enrolled in the CCAP program may complete some or all of their requirements with Simon Fraser University Continuing Studies as follows:

AAP Compulsory Courses

Equivalent Continuing Studies Course

Organizational Behaviour

Supervision / Management Studies

Elective Courses (choose four)

Equivalent Continuing Studies Course

Business or Commercial Law

Computer Technology — advanced courses in Excel, Access, etc.

No equivalent

Event management

No equivalent

Human Resource Management


No equivalent

Public Relations

No equivalent

Social Media

No equivalent


No equivalent

Website design / Management

No equivalent

CCAP Recertification

CCAP graduates must complete a certification renewal process every three years, based on a credits system. Credits are awarded by completing professional development programs, attending AAP meetings and events, working in the administrative profession, community involvement and more. A total of 40 certification renewal credits must be accumulated in the three year renewal period. For more information, visit contact the CCAP National Coordinator at

AAP Contact

For more information on the Association of Administrative Professionals, how to become a member, where our branches are, the CCAP designation and more, visit or email the National Director – Register at