Part-time, in class Urban Design Certificate

Courses

Core courses (complete all six)

Theory and Practice   URBD780
Wed–Thu, September 25-26, 2019, 9 am–5:30 pm
Wed–Thu, September 23-24, 2020, 9 am–5:30 pm

Visual Communication   URBD786
Fri–Sat, September 27-28, 2019, 9 am–5:30 pm
Fri–Sat, September 25-26, 2020, 9 am–5:30 pm

Economic Fundamentals   URBD785
Wed–Thu, November 13–14, 2019, 9 am–5:30 pm
Wed–Thu, November 18–19, 2020, 9 am–5:30 pm

Ecological Planning and Sustainable Design   URBD787
Wed–Thu, April 10–11, 2019, 9 am-5:30 pm
Wed–Thu, April 15–16, 2020, 9 am-5:30 pm

Studio I: Analytic Tools   URBD778
Thu–Sat, January 30–February 1, 2020, 9 am–5:30 pm
Thu–Sat, January 28–30, 2021, 9 am–5:30 pm

Studio II: Synthesis of Urban Form   URBD779
Thu–Sat, June 4-6, 2020, 9 am–5:30 pm
Thu–Sat, June 3-5, 2021, 9 am–5:30 pm

Elective courses (complete two)

Note: at least one elective must be from the urban design list.

Urban design electives (URBD)

Urban Vitalization   URBD784
April 12-13, 2019, 9 am-5:30 pm

Public Realm   URBD789
November 20-21, 2020

Community Data Science Elective

With prior program approval, you may take CDSC101 Community Data Science Theory and Practice as an elective. Contact city@sfu.ca for details.

Dialogue and Civic Engagement electives

In certain cases, and with prior program approval, you may take select Dialogue and Civic Engagement courses as electives. Contact city@sfu.ca for details.

Register for an individual urban design course

If you’re not ready to enroll in the Urban Design Certificate, you can start with one or two courses if space is available. You do not need to apply or pay an application fee; simply register and pay the course fee online.

If you complete individual courses, you may apply them to the certificate after we accept your application, provided you submit all your assignments on time.