Faculty & staff expert information

Many SFU faculty members and staff are providing expert opinion on COVID-19-related issues through mainstream media, social media and other communication channels. Find the right expert for information or collaboration.

This week marks one year since the first official case of COVID-19 was reported in Canada (today January 25), and in B.C. (January 26 first lab-confirmed case according to the B.C. Medical Association). While vaccines have begun rolling out across Canada, high case numbers and tightened restrictions remain as new variants globally are raising concern.

The following SFU experts are available to comment on the impact of COVID-19 and a variety of topics relating to the pandemic. 

Topics

HEALTH

Anne-Kristina Arnold, biomedical physiology and kinesiology, anne_kristina_arnold@sfu.ca

  • Ergonomics and remote work 
  • Psychosocial issues and assessing the effectiveness of work stations 
  • Musculoskeletal injuries with COVID-19 restrictions

Fiona Brinkman, molecular biology and biochemistry, brinkman@sfu.ca

  • Self-isolation and preventing the spread of COVID-19
  • Vaccines and vaccinations  

Tania Bubela, dean of health sciences, fhsdean@sfu.ca

  • Knowledge translation in health, biotechnology and new technologies in biomedicine

Caroline Colijn, Canada 150 Research Chair in Mathematics for Evolution, Infection and Public Health, ccolijn@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19 infection, mathematical model
  • Role of data modeling in predicting disease spread
  • Effectiveness of physical distancing 
  • COVID-19 variants, vaccines and vaccinations 

Valorie Crooks, Canada Research Chair in Health Service Geographies, 604.417.9007, crooks@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19 risks in B.C. neighbourhoods
  • Canadian snowbirds’ travel south during the pandemic
  • Border restrictions & health care implications 
  • Vaccines and vaccinations 

Scott Lear, Pfizer/Heart & Stroke Foundation Chair in Cardiovascular Prevention Research, health sciences, slear@providencehealth.bc.ca

  • Impacts of the pandemic on young adults (18-40 years) 
  • The effects of the pandemic on mental health and exercise
  • The challenges of adherence to public health measures & strategies to improve adherence

Kelley Lee, professors, health sciences, kelley_lee@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19 variants, vaccines and vaccinations 

Stuart Peacock, professor, health sciences, Leslie Diamond Chair in Cancer Survivorship, stuart_peacock@sfu.ca(limited availability)

  • Cancer survivorship, impact of COVID-19 on cancer patients
  • COVID-19 and cancer
  • The impact of the pandemic on patient care
  • Health economics and policy

Lieke Ten Brummelhuis, Beedie School of Business, ltenbrum@sfu.ca (starting March 1st) 

  • Managing stress and staying focused while working remotely

 

BUSINESS & ECONOMICS

Terri Griffith, Keith Beedie Chair in Innovation & Entrepreneurship, terri_griffith@sfu.ca

  • Managerial/employee approaches as offices think of reopening
  • Continued improvement in work from home strategies
  • Acceleration of automation at work and how that can go well (or not)

Steve Kates, associate professor, Beedie School of Business, steven_kates@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19 and branding

Sarah Lubik, director, entrepreneurship/innovation, Beedie School of Business, slubik@sfu.ca

  • Challenging companies to develop technology, products and solutions for COVID-19

Andrey Pavlov, Beedie School of Business, 604.763.3696, apavlov@sfu.ca

  • Financial impacts
  • Stock markets and long-term economic prospects 

Jeremy Stone, director of SFU’s community economic development program, jeremy_stone@sfu.ca

  • Economic recovery after disasters 
  • Economic resilience planning 
  • Economic development for community well-being

Kendra Strauss, labour studies, kstrauss@sfu.ca

  • Labour markets
  • Wages, labour and regulation 

Anastasia Ufimtseva, Beedie School of Business, anastasia_ufimtseva@sfu.ca (fluent in Czech and Russian) 

  • Global governance
  • Political economy of natural resources
  • Impact of sliding oil prices on the global and Canadian oil and gas sector

 

COMMUNICATION

Peter Chow-White, communication, 604.603.3794, peter_chow-white@sfu.ca

  • Social media use during a crisis

Stuart Poyntz, professor, communication, spoyntz@sfu.ca 

  • Impact of COVID on young people (teens and young adults in their twenties)
  • Impact and relation of COVID to community-based research and the needs of disadvantaged populations in the city

Alice Fleerackers, PhD student, communication, afleerac@sfu.ca

  • Public communication of COVID-19 research from lens of digital journalism and/or science communication 

 

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

Holly Andersen, professor, philosophy of science, 604.349.7807, holly_andersen@sfu.ca 

  • Moral or ethical implications of various science-based policies and on personal actions in a social context involving science
  • Trust in science and expertise, causal versus statistical reasoning in epidemiology
  • Probability and interventions in biomedicine, science communication

 

CRIMINOLOGY

Rylan Simpson, criminology, rylan_simpson@sfu.ca

  • Policing, police appearance and police effectiveness during COVID-19
  • How police balance virus exposure risk with providing services
  • Implications of police enforcement of governmental health orders

 

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS

Irene Pang, international studies, irene_pang@sfu.ca (fluent in Cantonese and Mandarin) 

  • State and societal responses to COVID-19 in China and Hong Kong

 

MENTAL HEALTH & PSYCHOLOGY

Lara Aknin, psychology, laknin@sfu.ca

  • Pro-social behaviour, well-being, happiness and social relationships

Alissa Antle, professor, School of Interactive Arts & Technology, aantle@sfu.ca

  • Impact of COVID-19 on children’s mental health and socio-emotional learning 
  • Role of digital technologies in supporting children and families around mental health
  • Socio-emotional health during and post-pandemic

Tanya Broesch, psychology, 604.369.0128, tanya_broesch@sfu.ca

  • How parents can talk to their kids about COVID-19 
  • Social learning
  • Child development and culture

Andrew Feenberg, communication, feenberg@sfu.ca

  • Online communities and education 

Diane Finegood, Morris J. Wosk Centre for Dialogue, finegood@sfu.ca

  • Building community connection online through dialogue 
  • Complex pandemic response to build back stronger
  • Positive effects of the pandemic

Yuthika Girme, psychology, ygirme@sfu.ca

  • Social support, social distancing, relationships and singlehood

Grace Iarocci, psychology, grace_iarocci@sfu.ca

  • COVID-19's impact on autism community
  • How autism community can cope with anxiety post COVID-19

Carman Neustaedter, School of Interactive Arts & Technology, 604.754.1191, carman@sfu.ca

  • Social distancing and staying connected

Charlotte Waddell, health sciences, director of SFU’s Children’s Health Policy Centre, charlotte_waddell@sfu.ca

 

POLITICS

Robert Adamson, lecturer, Beedie School of Business, 604.657.1213; radamson@sfu.caadamson.robert@me.com

  • Vaccine rollout across provinces

Andy Yan, The City Program, ayan@sfu.ca

  • Housing, rental market, government assistance announced for renters, urban planning and COVID-19’s impact on cities

 

SENIORS

Habib Chaudhury, gerontology, chaudhury@sfu.ca

  • Built environment and ageing, seniors housing
  • Long-term care, age-friendly community, dementia friendly community

Gloria Gutman, gerontology, gutman@sfu.ca

  • Senior’s housing, long-term care, health promotion 
  • Age friendly hospitals and communities
  • Seniors and emergency preparedness

Andrew Sixsmith, gerontology, andrew_sixsmith@sfu.ca

  • Social isolation, technologies to connect people, technology policy and the digital divide

Andrew Wister, gerontology, wister@sfu.ca

  • Social isolation among older adults during the COVID-19 pandemic, ageism, risk and resilience and aging models

 

CONTACT 

MELISSA SHAW, SFU  Communications & Marketing 
236.880.3297 | melissa_shaw@sfu.ca

MATT KIELTYKA, SFU Communications & Marketing
236.880.2187 | matt_kieltyka@sfu.ca

Simon Fraser University 
Communications & Marketing | SFU Media Experts Directory 
778.782.3210

ABOUT SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

As Canada’s engaged university, SFU works with communities, organizations and partners to create, share and embrace knowledge that improves life and generates real change. We deliver a world-class education with lifelong value that shapes change-makers, visionaries and problem-solvers. We connect research and innovation to entrepreneurship and industry to deliver sustainable, relevant solutions to today’s problems. With campuses in British Columbia’s three largest cities—Vancouver, Burnaby and Surrey—SFU has eight faculties that deliver 193 undergraduate degree programs and 127 graduate degree programs to more than 37,000 students. The university now boasts more than 165,000 alumni residing in 143 countries.