Michael Stevenson Graduate Scholarship

Terms of Reference

  1. The purpose of this award is to provide financial support for students enrolled in a doctoral program at Simon Fraser University.
  2. The Michael Stevenson Graduate Scholarship is a three-term award and it is tenable during three consecutive academic terms in Fall, Spring, and Summer.
  3.  The criteria for this award are:
    1. demonstrated academic excellence at the  graduate level
    2. full-time registration in a doctoral program in any Faculty at SFU
    3. demonstrated research excellence at the postgraduate level with particular emphasis on intellectual ability, originality and ability in research
  4. This award may be held in conjunction with other awards made by Simon Fraser University or other agencies where permitted by those agencies.
  5. The student must be NOMINATED for the Michael Stevenson Graduate Scholarship.  One nomination may be made by the Graduate Program Chair to the Dean of their respective Faculty.  Each nomination must be made on the Application for a Private Graduate Scholarship form and must be accompanied by a:
    1. current, unofficial SFU transcript and a copy of the official transcript of the most recent degree program complete
    2. resume summarizing scholastic achievements and work relevant to the aims of this scholarship
    3. letter of reference from the student’s senior supervisor describing the candidate’s research abilities
  6. Nominations can be compiled at the departmental level by May 30. One nomination package including all supporting documents from each Graduate Program Chair must be submitted to the Dean of their Faculty by June 15.
  7. The selection of a successful candidate(s) in each Faculty will be made by the Faculty Graduate Studies Committee from the nominations received.
  8. One successful nomination package from each Faculty Dean will be forwarded to the Office of the Dean of Graduate Studies by June 30, who will make the final selection from among the Faculty nominations received, on behalf of the Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee.

Revised: April 2012 / GESR 181


Other scholarships available to all faculties